Our Mission

The mission of the Energy Department is to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions. Learn more. 

Our Leadership

As United States Secretary of Energy, Jennifer M. Granholm leads an agency tasked with maintaining a safe, secure and effective nuclear deterrent and reducing the threat of nuclear proliferation, overseeing the United States’ energy supply, carrying out the environmental clean-up from the Cold War nuclear mission, and the 17 National Laboratories.

    Jennifer M. Granholm
    Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy
    David M. Turk
    Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy
    David Crane
    Under Secretary for Infrastructure
    Dr. Geri Richmond
    Under Secretary for Science and Innovation
    Jill Hruby
    Under Secretary for Nuclear Security and Administrator of the National Nuclear Security Administration

    Our History

    The Department of Energy has one of the richest and most diverse histories in the Federal Government. Although only in existence since 1977, the Department traces its lineage to the Manhattan Project effort to develop the atomic bomb during World War II, and to the various energy-related programs that previously had been dispersed throughout various Federal agencies. Learn more.

    Budget & Performance

    The Department of Energy’s (DOE’s) Budget Requests to Congress, Strategic Plan,  Agency Financial Report, and Annual Performance Plan/Reports provide information on DOE’s strategic goals and objectives, funding requested to achieve these goals and objectives, and details of DOE’s financial management and performance.

    Working With Us

    The Energy Department's mission speaks to all sectors of the economy. Whether your expertise is in science, technology, engineering, national security, international affairs or business, the Energy Department offers challenging and innovative work environments. Learn more. 

    Energy Department Policies

    The Energy Department is working to ensure America's Energy Future, Scientific & Technological Leadership, Nuclear Security and to resolve the environmental legacy of the cold war. Learn more about Energy Department Directives, Orders & Policies. 

    Contact Us

    By E-mail:     You can send an email to the Secretary of Energy at The.Secretary@hq.doe.gov

    By Phone:     202-586-5000 (Main Switchboard) 
                           For Hearing and/or Speech Impaired: Telephone Communication

    By Fax:          202-586-4403

    *By Mail:      U.S. Department of Energy
                         1000 Independence Ave., SW
                         Washington, DC 20585

    *Please note: mail may take up to 3 weeks to arrive.  As such, we strongly encourage you to use the email address provided above or our Contact Us form.