AEO to Help Implement New DOE Arctic Strategy

Advancing Arctic energy, science and security is the goal of DOE’s new Arctic Strategy. The Strategy outlines DOE’s coordination with Arctic stakeholders from Indigenous Peoples to international partners to grasp Arctic challenges, ensure energy equity, and work together to apply solutions.

DOE’s Arctic Energy Office will lead this coordination to address these challenges, which stem from warmer Arctic conditions and rapidly decreasing ice that have been linked to more intense storms, droughts, wildfires, floods, and rising sea levels. In addition, resource development, new shipping patterns, altered fisheries, and increased tourism require a focus on new opportunities and challenges. For economic, cultural, environmental, geopolitical, equity, and security reasons, DOE and the nation’s commitment to science-informed and evidence-based decisions and investments is essential to the entire region’s future.

"The magnitude, rate and impact of changes in the Arctic have implications far beyond the region. DOE’s Arctic Strategy identifies the areas we believe should--and must--be addressed by DOE’s work in collaboration with the people who call the Arctic home, other federal agencies, and global neighbors,” said AEO Director George Roe.

To strategically address these interests, we will collaborate with DOE program offices; leverage national labs; engage public and private sector coordination; and partner with foreign allies. DOE’s vision is to be a source of science, technology, and engineering solutions to accelerate the energy transition, enable science-based decision- making, and ensure national security in the Arctic.

DOE, White House to Collaborate on Arctic Strategies

DOE's Arctic Strategy builds on the National Strategy for the Arctic Region (NSAR), which the White House published on Oct. 7, to address climate change with greater urgency over the next 10 years, from 2022 to 2032. It directs new investments to improve livelihoods for Arctic residents, while conserving the environment. It also acknowledges increasing strategic competition in the Arctic since 2013 (when the predecessor Strategy was released) and seeks to position the United States to both effectively compete and manage tensions. The NSAR will advance U.S. interests across four mutually reinforcing pillars spanning both domestic and international issues. These include security; climate change and environmental protection; sustainable economic development; and international cooperation. Read the fact sheet here

Sign up for our new newsletter, read our latest edition

We are publishing a newsletter, DOE Arctic Energy Updates, to keep you informed about Arctic-related events and programs at the U.S. Department of Energy. Sign up today! Read our fall editionAccess our inaugural edition here


Mission and Leadership

Learn more about the Arctic Energy Office Mission and Leadership.

A logo with an iceberg and various shades of greens and blues.


Learn about Arctic-related events, programs, jobs, publications and more on our Resources page. 


Learn About Our Programs and Activities Through Our Blogs

Read about two fall conferences that provided an opportunity for Alaska Natives to outline their energy needs and ideas. Find a listing of all of our blogs here. You can reach us via email ( and Twitter (@ArcticEnergyDOE) any time. North to the future!