The Arctic Energy Office (AE) serves as the principal advisor to the Under Secretary on all domestic Arctic issues, including energy, science, and national security. The Arctic Energy Office has primary responsibility for coordinating efforts across the Department of Energy’s (DOE) program and staff offices and National Laboratories to ensure a unified voice on all Arctic issues, and we report through the Under Secretary for Science and Innovation (DOE Organization Chart).

The Arctic Energy Office's Fairbanks Office sits on Dënéndeh land.


University of Alaska Fairbanks campus
The Arctic Energy Office is located on University of Alaska Fairbanks campus.
Photo provided by the University of Alaska Fairbanks

The DOE Arctic Strategy outlines our coordination with Arctic stakeholders, Tribes, and international partners to grasp Arctic challenges, ensure energy equity, and work together to apply solutions. DOE’s Arctic Energy Office leads this coordination to address these challenges. 

On October 7, 2022, President Biden issued the National Strategy for the Arctic Region, updating the National Strategy for the Arctic Region issued in 2013. The Implementation Plan sets forth the methodology, process, and approach for executing the Strategy. This Implementation Plan complements and builds upon existing initiatives by Federal, State, local, and Tribal authorities, the private sector, and international partners, and focuses efforts where opportunities exist and action is most needed. The Arctic Energy Office played a critical role in drafting the Implementation Plan, with an emphasis on Pillar 3. See the Strategy and Implementation Plan on our publications page.

The Arctic Energy Newsroom shares blogs and press releases about matters impacting the Arctic and opportunities and news from the Department of Energy that is of interest to our stakeholders. You can also get updates straight to your inbox by signing up for our regular newsletter.

Meet The Team

Erin Whitney
Director, Arctic Energy Office
Michael McEleney
Senior Advisor, Arctic Energy Office
AnneMarie Horowitz
Chief of Staff, Arctic Energy Office
Brix Hahn
Alaska Engagement Advisor, Arctic Energy Office
Levi Kilcher
Senior Energy Advisor, Arctic Energy Office
Paul McKinley
Hydrogen Advisor (Arctic Energy Office and UAF)