Contact Us

For additional information about NEAC, please contact Teddy Echeverria at

The Nuclear Energy Advisory Committee (NEAC) (formerly the Nuclear Energy Research Advisory Committee) was established on October 1, 1998, to provide independent advice to the Office of Nuclear Energy (NE) on complex science and technical issues that arise in the planning, managing, and implementation of DOE's nuclear energy program.

NEAC periodically reviews the elements of the NE program and based on these reviews provides advice and recommendations on the program’s long-range plans, priorities, and strategies to effectively address the scientific and engineering aspects of the research and development efforts. In addition, the committee provides advice on national policy and scientific aspects of nuclear energy research issues as requested by the Secretary of Energy or the Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy.

The committee includes representatives from universities, industry, foreign nationals, and national laboratories. Particular attention was paid to obtaining a diverse membership with a balance of disciplines, interests, experiences, points of view, and geography. NEAC operates in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) (Public Law 92-463), 92nd Congress, H.R. 4383' October 6, 1972) and all applicable FACA Amendments, Federal Regulations and Executive Orders.