Since 2013, the DOE Housing Innovation Awards have honored the very best in innovation on the path to zero energy ready homes by recognizing forward-thinking builders delivering American homebuyers with a better homeowner experience. The 2023 Housing Innovation Award winners were honored at an awards ceremony and dinner during the EEBA High Performance Home Summit in Salt Lake City, Utah. Read the full DOE press release on the 2023 winners here. 

Take a virtual tour of past Housing Innovation Award winners on the DOE Tour of Zero!

Award winners at the 2022 HIA ceremony.
2022 Housing Innovation Award Winners at the EEBA Summit in Scottsdale, Arizona.

2023 Housing Innovation Grand Award Winners

Off the Shelf Award– Awarded to the builder who best leverages readily available, off the shelf materials and systems to achieve advanced building science results.

Winner: Healthy Communities - Williamsburg, Virginia

Blazing the Trail Award– Awarded to the builder with the most innovative use of technologies, materials, sensors, automation, and advanced controls to optimize performance of the home.

Winner: Affordable Housing Concepts - Gardiner, New York

Class is in Session Award – Awarded to the builder who demonstrates excellent use of building for educational outreach and to inform the building industry, the homebuyer, and the public and/or local community about DOE Zero Energy Ready Homes.

Winner: Habitat for Humanity North Central Connecticut - Hartford, Connecticut

Decarbon Copy Award – Awarded to the builder whose innovative approach to decarbonization in Zero Energy Ready Homes produces the most replicability and predictability in results.

Winner: CGA Studio Architects - Hastings-on-Hudson, New York

The Total Package Award – Awarded to the builder who scored the highest across all award categories showing well-rounded achievement in ZERH.

Winner: Affordable Housing Concepts - Gardiner, New York

ZERH Champion Award – Awarded to the builder with the most DOE Zero Energy Ready one- and two- family homes built in the past year.

Winner: K. Hovnanian Northeast Division - Edison, New Jersey

2023 Housing Innovation Award Winners

Addison Homes - Greer, South Carolina

Affordable Housing Concepts - Gardiner, New York

Beazer Homes - Atlanta, Georgia

Bellingham Bay Builders - Bellingham, Washington

CGA Studio Architects - Hastings-on-Hudson, New York

Clifton View Homes - Coupeville, Washington

Cornerstone Construction of Northeast Ohio and New Leaf Home Design - Hiram, Ohio

Deltec Homes and Greenacres High Performance Home Consulting - Asheville, North Carolina

Envinity - State College, Pennsylvania

Garbett Construction - Salt Lake City, Utah

Habitat for Humanity North Central Connecticut - Hartford, Connecticut

Healthy Communities - Williamsburg, Virginia

K. Hovnanian Companies - Edison, New Jersey

KB Home - Los Angeles, California

Mandalay Homes - Prescott, Arizona

Passive Aggressive Housing - New York, New York

Powerhouse Designs and TC Legend Homes - Bellingham, Washington

Providence Homes - Jacksonville, Florida

Red Tree Builders - Asheville, North Carolina

S.D. Jessup Construction - Pilot Mountain, North Carolina

Simple Integrity - Cooperstown, New York

SummitRidge Custom Homes - Golden, Colorado

Targa Homes - Seattle, Washington

Thrive Home Builders - Denver, Colorado

Tim O’Brien Homes - Pewaukee, Wisconsin

United Way of Long Island - Deer Park, New York

Woodside Homes - Salt Lake City, Utah

Zero Net Now - Esopus, New York


2023 Special Honors

[bundle] design studio - Bellingham, Washington

Envinity - State College, Pennsylvania

Everlasting Homes Building Group - Houston, Texas

Habitat for Humanity South Sarasota County - Venice, Florida

Howard Building Science - Granite Falls, North Carolina

Insight Homes - Bridgeville, Delaware

Kala Performance Homes - Lake Quivira, Kansas

Sun Country Builders and Coachella Valley Housing Coalition - Vista, California

Viking Construction - Bridgeport, Connecticut