Banner that says Clean. Reliable. Nuclear. Click on it to go to the Office of Nuclear Energy home page.

News Media Contact: (202) 586-4940
For Immediate Release: June 4, 2018


WASHINGTON, D.C. – The U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Nuclear Energy today announced the new appointment of thirteen nuclear science, business and industry leaders to the Department of Energy’s (DOE) Nuclear Energy Advisory Committee (NEAC). The new members join the twelve returning members of NEAC.

NEAC was established in 1998 and falls under DOE’s Office of Nuclear Energy. NEAC meets biannually to advise the Secretary and the Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy on a number of issues, including:

  • National policy and scientific aspects of nuclear issues of concern to DOE,
  • Periodic reviews of the various program elements within DOE’s nuclear programs and recommendations based thereon,
  • The needs, views, and priorities of stakeholders of DOE’s nuclear programs, and long-range plans, priorities, and strategies to address more effectively the technical, financial, and policy aspects of such programs,
  • And, appropriate levels of resources to develop those plans, priorities, and strategies.

"The U.S. nuclear energy sector is at a pivotal point, with transformational and innovative technologies on the horizon,” said Ed McGinnis, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy. “These members are chosen to reflect our intent of gaining a wide variety of expert advice for the Office of Nuclear Energy as it supports the revitalization and expansion of the U.S. nuclear energy sector.”

Per NEAC’s charter, members are experts in their respective fields and are appointed as special representatives of entities such as research facilities, academic and policy-centered institutions, and industry organizations.

The new members of NEAC are:

Lisa Marie Cheney, President, Innovative Business Group

David Blee, President and CEO, U.S. Nuclear Industry Council

Eric Anderson, Executive Director, J.P. Morgan

Jay Faison, Founder and CEO, ClearPath Foundation

Brien Sheahan, Chairman and CEO, Illinois Commerce Commission

John Bear, CEO, Midcontinent Independent System Operator (MISO)

Dr. Seungjin Kim, Purdue University School of Nuclear Engineering

Sean McGarvey, President, North America’s Building Trades Unions (NABTU)

Ralph DiSibio, Executive Chairman and CEO Emeritus, Kurion

Caroline Cochran, Co-founder and COO, Oklo

John Hopkins, Chairman and CEO, NuScale Power, LLC

Dr. Peter Lyons, Former Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy, DOE

Stephen Kuczynski, Chairman, President and CEO, Southern Nuclear Operating Company

The returning members of NEAC are:

Dr. Richard Meserve (NEAC Co-Chair), President, Carnegie Institution for Science

Dr. Joy Rempe (NEAC Co-Chair), Retired, Former Fellow and Group Leader, Idaho National Laboratory

Dr. Alfred Sattelberger, Chief Research Officer (Emeritus), Argonne National Laboratory

Dr. Regis Matzie, President, RAMatzie Nuclear Technology Consulting LLC  

Dr. Matthew Bunn, Associate Professor, Harvard University John F. Kennedy School of Government 

Dr. Dana Christensen, National Security Technologies, LLC

Dr. Sue Ion, Chair, Energy Policy Group of the Royal Academy of Engineering

Dr. Karen Kirkland, Associate Department Head and Associate Professor, Texas A&M University Department of Nuclear Engineering

Maria Korsnick, President and CEO, Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI)

Dr. Carl Paperiello, Independent Nuclear Consultant, Radiation Protection, and Nuclear Regulation and Licensing

Dr. Burton Richter, Paul Pigott Professor, Stanford University Physical Sciences Emeritus

Ray Rothrock, CEO, RedSeal

NEAC meetings are open to the public. The next scheduled meeting is Monday, July 9 at 9:00 a.m. at the Crowne Plaza, Washington National Airport. 

To learn more on NEAC, its activities and members, visit /ne/services/nuclear-energy-advisory-committee