WASHINGTON, D.C. — The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) today announced more than $6.3 million in funding for 18 projects at 15 universities in 14 states. The funding builds up scientific infrastructure and upgrades research reactors at universities to expand the nation’s scientific capabilities and train the next generation of nuclear energy scientists and engineers.  

The universities that will receive infrastructure awards are:

  • University of Maryland, College Park
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology 
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology 
  • University of Nevada, Las Vegas 
  • University of Nevada, Reno 
  • University of New Mexico 
  • North Carolina State University 
  • The Ohio State University  
  • Oregon State University 
  • Pennsylvania State University 
  • Purdue University 
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute  
  • University of Utah 
  • Washington State University 
  • University of Wyoming

These awards follow last week's announcement of more than $56 million to support nuclear technology development, early career faculty research activities, and student research at U.S. universities and national laboratories. 
Since 2009, DOE has awarded over $84,000,000 for university nuclear energy infrastructure projects and upgrades. DOE’s Infrastructure Program is managed by the Nuclear Energy University Program with support from the Nuclear Science User Facilities (NSUF).

Learn more about these awards at https://neup.inl.gov/SitePages/FY23_Infrastructure_Awards.aspx.


Media Inquiries
Phone: (202) 586-4940 | Email: DOENews@hq.doe.gov