Text that says "SolarAPP+ Prize" on a photo of houses with solar panels

The SolarAPP+ Prize is a $1 million program designed to accelerate the adoption of Solar Automated Permit Processing Plus (SolarAPP+).

SolarAPP+ is an automated permitting software tool that provides instant permit approval on code-compliant residential rooftop solar systems. SolarAPP+ has been adopted by dozens of Authorities Having Jurisdiction (AHJs). For local governments that have adopted SolarAPP+, projects are permitted and inspected about two weeks faster than average, saving time for employees. 

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Solar Energy Technologies Office (SETO) will award prizes of $15,000 to local governments that successfully adopt or pilot SolarAPP+ in about five months. The prize funding will help local governments lower the cost of the adoption process.


Step 1: Application

To apply, interested AHJs (including counties, cities, and incorporated towns and villages) must submit an application with a letter of support to demonstrate their intent to adopt SolarAPP+, the impact it would have on their solar permitting process, and their need for the product and the SolarAPP+ Prize.

Reviewers will review the applications and select competitors to advance to the next stage of the competition.

Step 2: Adoption

Eligible competitors will have five months to submit proof of SolarAPP+ adoption for the opportunity to win cash prizes. To win the prize, the AHJ must begin piloting the application with contractors in their community on or before April 27, 2023.

Interested participants can read the rules and register to compete on the HeroX platform.


  • The program opened September 12, 2022. 
  • Step 1 submissions were due November 4, 2022.
  • Eligible competitors were announced in December 2022. 
  • Step 2 final submissions were due April 27, 2023.
  • Winners were announced July 18, 2023.


Winners received $15,000 each for successfully implementing SolarAPP+ in their communities before the deadline:

  • Town of Oro Valley (Oro Valley, AZ)
  • City of Fremont (Fremont, CA)
  • City and County of Denver (Denver, CO)
  • City of Tiffin (Tiffin, IA)

Learn More