Columbia Reactor Team
Columbia Reactor Team on receive NNSA’s 2021 General John A. Gordon Medal.

This year, the General John A. Gordon Medal for Excellence and Innovation in the National Interest went to the Naval Reactors’ Columbia Reactor Team. This award recognizes NNSA teams and individuals who demonstrate outstanding innovation in the areas of science, technology, management, or leadership.

The members of the Columbia Reactor Team, Richard E. Uhlman, Timothy Stuhldreher, Katherine E. Haight, Calvin G. Sizer, Kevin M. Krogh, and Bobby T. Bond, delivered the most critical element of the U.S. Navy’s top acquisition priority by designing the reactor cores to fuel the new Columbia class of nuclear-powered ballistic missile submarines. The team’s technical expertise led to an unprecedented approach as they resolved new and complex issues to ensure the submarines will be ready to meet the nation’s strategic deterrence mission well into the next century. Their work proved to be an essential part of NNSA’s naval nuclear propulsion mission.

“This award recognizes General Gordon’s legacy while acknowledging the extraordinary contributions and accomplishments of our current workforce,” said Jill Hruby, NNSA Administrator, during her remarks. “The recipients of this medal exemplify the kind of competence and dedication critical to our success. The skills, persistence, demand for excellence, and leadership qualities from our honorees today, is what has made us successful and are critical in both building our institutional knowledge and mentoring the next generation.”

“When you have a can-do attitude and you put mission first, it’s remarkable what can be achieved,” said DOE Deputy Secretary David Turk who also addressed the recipients. “The group of professionals we have here today is one powerful illustration of the incredibly important work here at DOE and NNSA and how that work keeps our nation, our partners, and our allies safe.”

The formal ceremony was held on Tuesday, May 10 and streamed live via WebEx.