You are here


WASHINGTON, D.C. – Yesterday, President Donald J. Trump announced that U.S. Secretary of Energy Rick Perry will lead the Presidential Delegation to attend the Inauguration of His Excellency Volodymyr Zelenskyy, President of Ukraine, on May 20, 2019, in Kyiv, Ukraine. A congressional delegation, led by U.S. Senator Ron Johnson, will also attend the inauguration.

While in Ukraine, Secretary Perry and the delegation will hold bilateral meetings with Ukrainian and European leaders.

The United States strongly supports Ukraine’s sovereignty, territorial integrity, and continued reform efforts, particularly as Ukraine seeks closer integration with the West. In November 2018, Secretary Perry launched the U.S.-Ukraine Strategic Energy Dialogue to cooperate on many of the energy issues facing Ukraine. In addition to the Dialogue, Perry introduced and hosted the Partnership for Transatlantic Energy Cooperation (P-TEC) this past March, which aims to bolster the energy security of Ukraine and the Central and Eastern European region.

Members of the Presidential Delegation:

His Excellency Kurt Volker, United States Special Representative for Ukraine Negotiations

His Excellency Gordon D. Sondland, United States Ambassador to the European Union

Mr. Alexander Vindman, Director for European Affairs, National Security Council

Mr. Joseph Pennington, Acting Deputy Chief of Mission for the United States Embassy in Ukraine

For more information on this trip, please contact Dirk Vandebeek at and Jess Szymanski at