Members Advise on Strategies for Grid of the Future

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE’s) Office of Electricity (OE) today announced the new members of the Electricity Advisory Committee (EAC). The EAC is an important component of OE’s strategy to improve its electric grid research, development, and demonstration portfolio and program activities. 

EAC members advise OE on current and future electric grid reliability, resilience, security, sector interdependence, and policy issues. They periodically review and make recommendations on grid-related programs and initiatives, including research and development programs and modeling efforts. Members also identify emerging issues related to electricity production and delivery and advise on federal coordination with utility industry authorities in the event of supply disruptions and other emergencies.  

“Looking back, the reliability of our nation’s power grid has been the cornerstone of over a century of American progress,” said Gene Rodrigues, Assistant Secretary for Electricity. “As we look ahead, our country must lead the transformation to a 21st century grid that provides all Americans with the benefits of clean energy, while also preserving the reliability, resilience, security, and affordability we all count on. The collective expertise of the Electricity Advisory Committee will help us chart that path forward.”  

EAC members come from across the energy community, including state and regional entities, utilities, cybersecurity and national security firms, the natural gas sector, equipment manufacturers, construction and architectural companies, non-governmental organizations, and other electricity-related organizations. U.S. Secretary of Energy Jennifer M. Granholm appoints each member to a two-year term. 

The 39 members of the EAC are:

Sharon Allan
Board Advisor & Consultant

Lauren Azar
Founder, Azar Law LLC 

Andrew Barbeau
President, The Accelerate Group

Tom Bialek
Chief Technology Officer, Toumetis

Daniel Brooks
Vice President, Integrated Grid & Energy Systems, Electric Power Research Institute

Jennifer Chen
Senior Manager, Clean Energy World Resources Institute

Robert W. Cummings
President, Red Yucca Power Consulting, LLC

Kimberly Denbow
Vice President, Security & Operations, American Gas Association

Andrew Fellon
President, Alliance Advisory Services

Louis Finkel
Senior Vice President, Government Relations, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

Lisa Frantzis
Partner in Energy, Sustainability, and Infrastructure, Guidehouse

Sheri Givens
President and Chief Executive Officer, Smart Electric Power Alliance

Paula R. Glover
President, Alliance to Save Energy

Representative Nicole Lowen
Chair, Committee on Energy and Environmental Protection Hawai’i House of Representatives

Monica Martinez
Owner and Principal, Ruben Strategy Group, LLC

Jessica O. Matthews
Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Uncharted Power, Inc.

Samara Moore
Security Assurance Senior Manager and Global Energy Specialist, Amazon Web Services

Jay Morrison
Chief Legal and External Affairs Officer, ElectriCities of North Carolina, Inc.

Richard S. Mroz
Managing Director, Resolute Strategies, LLC | Archer Public Affairs

Representative Don Parsons
State Representative, Georgia House of Representatives

Christopher Ayers
Executive Director, North Carolina Utilities Commission Public Staff

Howard Gugel
Vice President of Engineering and Standards, North American Electric Reliability Corporation

Aliya Haq
Vice President of U.S. Policy and Advocacy, Breakthrough Energy

Brian Harrell
Vice President and Chief Security Officer, Avangrid

Missy Henriksen
Executive Director, Center for Energy Workforce Development

Dave Herlong
Senior Director, Corporate Cyber Resiliency Task Force NextEra Energy

Mario Hurtado
Chief Regulatory Officer, LUMA Energy

Lola Infante
Executive Director, Government and External Affairs, Electric Power Research Institute

Lynne Kiesling
Director, Institute for Regulatory Law & Economics, Northwestern University

Clay Koplin
Chief Executive Officer, Cordova Electric Cooperative

Robert M. Lee
Chief Executive Officer, Dragos

Brian Lipscomb
Chief Executive Officer, Energy Keepers, Inc.

Delia Patterson
Senior Director, Regulatory Policy and Compliance, Salt River Project

Darlene Phillips
Executive Director, Operations Engineering Support, PJM Interconnection, LLC

Wanda Reder
President and Chief Executive Officer, Grid-X Partners, LLC

Paul Stockton
President, Paul N. Stockton LLC

Ramya Swaminathan
Chief Executive Officer, Malta, Inc.

Erik Takayesu
Senior Vice President, Asset Strategy and Planning, Southern California Edison

Jon Wellinghoff
Chief Executive Officer, GridPolicy, Inc.