This page features the organization and biographies of senior management in the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE). You may download the EERE Organization Chart here.

EERE Leadership Organization Chart

Executive Leadership

Assistant Secretary (Vacant)

Jeff Marootian
Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary
Jeff Marootian leads and directs the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE), focused on creating and sustaining American leadership in the transition to a global clean energy economy. The role oversees the planning and execution of the organization’s $3.2B portfolio of research, development, demonstration, and deployment activities.

Alejandro Moreno
Associate Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary
Alejandro Moreno provides strategic advice to the Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary in the strategic planning, execution, and oversight of the EERE portfolio.

Chief of Staff (Vacant)
The Chief of Staff supports the Assistant Secretary in advancing the office mission by enabling a high-performing, results-driven culture through effective management approaches and processes.

Rebecca Isacowitz
Deputy Chief of Staff

Rebecca Isacowitz supports the Chief of Staff in fostering an equitable, collaborative, and action-oriented culture to advance the office mission.

Michael Berube
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Sustainable Transportation & Fuels
Michael Berube oversees EERE’s Sustainable Transportation & Fuels sector. This portfolio focuses on research and development to increase access to domestic, clean transportation fuels and improve the energy efficiency, convenience, and affordability of transporting people and goods.

Dr. Becca Jones-Albertus
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Renewable Energy (Acting)
Becca Jones-Albertus directs EERE's renewable energy applied research, development, and demonstration activities for the geothermal, solar energy, and wind and water power technology offices.

Dr. Carolyn Snyder
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Buildings & Industry
Carolyn Snyder leads a diverse buildings and industry program and R&D portfolio that includes advanced manufacturing and building technologies.

Christy Cooper
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Operations

Christy Cooper directs EERE's business operations, including business services management, budget, IT, knowledge management services, and workforce management. 


Analysis Director (Vacant)
The Analysis Director oversees EERE's analysis activities that demonstrate the value of EERE's work on behalf of the U.S. and its taxpayers.

Monica Sanchez
External Affairs Director

Monica Sanchez oversees EERE's Office of External Affairs, including Communications, Stakeholder Engagement, and Legislative Affairs.

Dr. Sue Hamm
Integrated Strategies Director

Sue Hamm oversees EERE's Integrated Strategies portfolio, which includes priorities such as energy justice, and STEM.

Technology Sector Leaders


Dr. Becca Jones-Albertus
Solar Energy Technologies Office Director
Becca Jones-Albertus leads a team that supports early-stage research and development in the technology areas of photovoltaics, concentrating solar-thermal power, and systems integration with the goal of improving the affordability, reliability, and performance of solar technologies on the grid.

Eric Lantz
Wind Energy Technologies Office Director
Eric Lantz leads the Wind Energy Technologies Office to improve performance, lower costs, and accelerate deployment of wind technologies.

Cullen Henderson
Geothermal Technologies Office Director (Acting)

Cullen Henderson leads the Office's overall strategic, technical, and project oversight of cutting-edge technologies designed to advance geothermal as a key contributor to the U.S. energy portfolio. He partners with industry, academia, and DOE's national laboratories to establish geothermal energy as an economically competitive and widely available component of the U.S. energy supply.

Jennifer Garson
Water Power Technologies Office Director
Jennifer Garson manages efforts to improve performance, lower costs, and accelerate deployment of water power technologies.


Dr. Austin Brown
Vehicle Technologies Office Director

Austin Brown leads initiatives and programs that help reduce America's dependence on foreign oil and secure a clean energy future. The Vehicle Technologies Office supports research for hybrid drivetrains, advanced batteries, lightweight materials, advanced combustion and fuels, vehicle systems integration, and Clean Cities deployment activities.

Dr. Sunita Satyapal
Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies Office Director

Sunita Satyapal leads the Office's overall strategy and execution, including oversight and coordination of research, development, demonstration, and deployment activities related to hydrogen and fuel cells, and coordinates hydrogen activities across DOE.

Dr. Valerie Reed
Bioenergy Technologies Office Director

Valerie Reed leads the Office's overall strategic, technical, and project oversight of efforts to improve performance, lower costs, and accelerate market entry of advanced biofuels and bioproducts, which can help reduce America's imports of oil while enabling a new industry with an improved environmental impact.

Gabe Klein
Joint Office of Energy and Transportation Director 

Gabe Klein leads the Office's development of federal guidance and technical assistance for states and localities for strategically deploying EV charging infrastructure needed for zero-emission vehicles across the United States. 


Mandy Mahoney
Building Technologies Office Director

Mandy Mahoney leads the Building Technologies Office to create a self-sustaining market for building energy efficiency, including advancing technologies, promoting highly efficient buildings and homes, and accelerating the adoption of building codes and equipment standards. 

Dr. Christopher Saldaña
Advanced Materials & Manufacturing Technologies Office Director
Christopher Saldaña leads the Advanced Materials & Manufacturing Technologies Office (AMMTO) to advance energy-related materials and manufacturing technologies to increase domestic competitiveness and build a clean, decarbonized economy.

Dr. Avi Shultz
Industrial Efficiency & Decarbonization Office Director
Avi Shultz leads the Industrial Efficiency & Decarbonization Office (IEDO) to spearhead the development and accelerate the adoption of sustainable technologies that increase efficiency and eliminate industrial GHG emissions.


Marlys Kinsey
Golden Field Office (GFO) Director, Acting 
As GFO Director for EERE, Marlys oversees the critical operations and support functions in Golden that are key to fulfilling EERE’s clean energy mission.

Maria Sutton
Office Business Services Management (OBSM) Director
Maria oversees EERE's Workforce Management, Knowledge Management and Systems, and IT Services Offices, as well as cross-cutting business administration activities.  

Steve VonVital
Information and Technology Systems Office (ITSO) Director
Steve VonVital serves as EERE's Information Technology Services Office Director and as EERE's liaison for IT to the U.S. Department of Energy through the Department’s Information Management Governance Board.

Michelle Pannell
Workforce Management Office (WMO) Director
Michelle Pannell serves as EERE’s Workforce Management Office (WMO) Director, leading a team that provides assistance and advice to EERE offices and employees in the areas of talent management, staffing and onboarding, performance management, employee engagement, and training. WMO also oversees EERE Headquarters facilities management activities.

Christine Smith
Knowledge Management Systems (KMSO) Director

Andre Adams
Budget Office Director