Twelve collegiate teams from around the United States and Puerto Rico took part in the U.S. Department of Energy Collegiate Wind Competition 2018, held in Chicago, Illinois. More than 200 students from across the country worked to design, test, and build a lightweight, transportable wind turbine that could be used to power small electronic devices. 

The U.S. Department of Energy congratulates first, second, and third place champions The California State University Maritime Academy, Pennsylvania State University, and Kansas State University, respectively.

Final Results

After three days of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Collegiate Wind Competition held at the American Wind Energy Association’s annual WINDPOWER Conference, The California State University Maritime Academy beat out 11 other teams to claim top honors at the Collegiate Wind Competition.

Pennsylvania State University came in second place and Kansas State University came in third. Below are the winners of each contest:

In addition to the competition, industry members presented their experiences and thoughts about the wind industry to inspire students. Speakers included:

  • Tim Unruh, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Renewable Power, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Valerie Reed, Acting Director of the Wind Energy Technologies Office, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Tom Kiernan, Chief Executive Officer, American Wind Energy Association

2018 Event Sponsors

The U.S. Department of Energy Collegiate Wind Competition is grateful for the generosity of the 2018 sponsors to support a successful event and a positive experience for teams. Thank you to our 2018 sponsors!

  • DNV GL
  • GE Renewable Energy
  • NextEra Energy Resources
  • Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy
  • UL

The recognition of sponsor organizations does not constitute or imply any endorsement, sponsorship, or recommendation of their messages, missions, activities, products, or programs. The U.S. Department of Energy does not monitor, control, or directly fund the activities of the identified organizations.