Precedent-Setting Diverse Group of Experts Will Provide Advice and Recommendations on Departmental Priorities as DOE Accelerates the Clean Energy Revolution   

WASHINGTON, D.C.— The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) today announced the new members of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB), an important component of DOE’s strategy to improve its research and development portfolio and program activities. The members of the SEAB are appointed for a two-year term and represent academic institutions, nuclear security experts, labor unions, utility companies, energy equipment manufacturers, low-income consumers, and non-governmental organizations. The SEAB meets quarterly to advise the Secretary on how best to achieve the priorities of the Department, help identify emerging issues related to the DOE’s activities, and offer suggestions for improvements to its operation. For the first time ever, the SEAB is majority women. 

“DOE is laser-focused on its core missions of delivering climate change solutions, strengthening our Nation’s nuclear security, and managing our agency’s environmental legacy,” said Secretary Granholm. “I am enthused to welcome these stellar individuals to the SEAB. Their deep and diverse expertise will advise DOE on its core missions and will help steer our efforts to supercharge the clean energy revolution.” 

Dr. Arun Majumdar, who previously served on the SEAB (May 2014 to January 2017) and was the first Director of the Advanced Research Projects Agency – Energy (ARPA-E), will serve as Chair. Madelyn Creedon, who previously served as Principal Deputy Administrator of the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA), will serve as Vice-Chair.  

“This is a historic and pivotal moment for our nation. DOE is playing critical roles to help create a clean energy economy with millions of well-paying jobs, elevate environmental justice, invest in fundamental science and engineering research, and keep our nation secure,” said Dr. Majumdar. “The role of the Board is to help Secretary Granholm and her team succeed on all these fronts with constructive feedback and advice. We have an exceptional team of SEAB members with a diversity of domain expertise and life experience, and I very much look forward to working with them and with the Secretary and her team.” 

The  appointed members of the SEAB, whose terms expire on August 30, 2023, are listed alphabetically below: 

  • Trenton Allen, Managing Director and CEO, Sustainable Capital Advisors
  • Priscilla Almodovar, President and CEO, Enterprise Community Partners Inc
  • Norman Bay, Partner, Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP
  • Roxanne Brown, International Vice President at Large, United Steel Workers 
  • Madelyn Creedon, Principal Deputy Administrator of the National Nuclear Security Administration (Ret.) 
  • John Dabiri, Professor of Aeronautics and Mechanical Engineering, California Institute of Technology 
  • Noah Deich, President, Carbon180
  • Kerry Duggan, Chief Executive Officer, SustainabiliD
  • Bryan Garcia, President and CEO, Connecticut Green Bank  
  • Phil Giudice, Chair, FirstLight Power Resources
  • Paula Gold-Williams, President and CEO, CPS Energy  
  • Denise Gray, President, LG Energy Solution Michigan Inc.  
  • Shirley Ann Jackson, President, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute  
  • Arun Majumdar, Jay Precourt Provostial Chair Professor, Stanford University
  • Captain Tracy Mustin, U.S. Navy (Ret.), Retired as Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Environmental Management, DOE 
  • Maria Pope, President and CEO, Portland General Electric  
  • Adrianna Quintero, Senior Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Energy Foundation  
  • Michael Skelly, Chief Executive Officer, Grid United LLC