Office of International Affairs

Eighth Meeting of the U.S.-EU Energy Council in Brussels, Belgium

July 30, 2018

You are here

U.S. Secretary of Energy Rick Perry traveled to Brussels on July 12, 2018 to co-chair the Eighth Meeting of the U.S.-EU Energy Council with U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo and respective counterparts at the European Commission (EC).  The U.S. and EU co-chairs led an open and engaged discussion on key issues relating to transatlantic energy security, energy infrastructure investment and energy technology innovation. 

The parties also released the following joint press release at the conclusion of the Council meeting:

“The eighth U.S.-EU Energy Council met today in Brussels.  This was the first meeting of the Energy Council during the Administration of President Donald J. Trump and allowed for a substantial exchange of views, in an open and constructive atmosphere, on the opportunities for transatlantic energy cooperation."

The discussions focused on energy infrastructure, innovation and transitions as important means of promoting transparent, open and secure energy markets.  In this context the meeting discussed the modernization, development and resilience of energy infrastructure, including the importance to critical infrastructure protection through cybersecurity; clean energy innovation and other technology cooperation; and engagement with industry.  Regarding energy security, the meeting addressed issues related to energy policy and markets; diversification of energy sources, suppliers and routes; cooperation relating to reforms in Ukraine's energy sector and to its transit role; and cooperation on energy vulnerable regions.  The participants encouraged the working groups under the Energy Council to meet again shortly to take forward U.S.-EU cooperation.  They look forward to the next Energy Council meeting again in due course.

The Energy Council was co-chaired by High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the European Commission, Federica Mogherini, Vice-President of the European Commission in charge of Energy Union, Maroš Šefčovič, Commissioner for Climate Action and Energy, Miguel Arias Cañete, U.S. Secretary of State, Michael R. Pompeo and U.S. Secretary of Energy, Rick Perry.  Federal Minister Juliane Bogner-Strauß represented the Presidency of the Council of the European Union.


The U.S.-EU Energy Council was established in 2009 to promote transparent, open and secure global energy markets; foster policy and regulatory cooperation on efficient and sustainable energy use; and pursue joint research and development on clean energy and energy efficiency technologies.

Related Press Outreach

Secretary Perry also participated in a joint press event following the Council meeting with Vice President for Energy Union Šefčovič and Commissioner Arias Cañete.  The video of the press conference is available here: