This page displays the links to available presentations from Day One and Day Two of the Bioenergy Technologies Office's (BETO’s) Bioenergy 2015 conference. Approved presentations have been made available. Copying or using any materials without the consent of the presentation owner is prohibited.

Day One: June 23, 2015

Welcome and Introductory Keynotes

  • Franklin (Lynn) Orr, Under Secretary for Science and Energy, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Amy Klobuchar, U.S. Senate (D-MN)
  • David Danielson, Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy 
  • Jonathan Male, director, Bioenergy Technologies Office, U.S. Department of Energy

Plenary I: Policy and Market Overview

  • Matt Carr, executive director, Algae Biomass Organization
  • Bob Dinneen, president and CEO, Renewable Fuels Association 
  • Claire Curry, associate, Advanced Transport, Bloomberg New Energy Finance 
  • Joel Velasco, senior vice-president, Albright Stonebridge Group

Plenary II: Biofuels in a Global Marketplace

  • Daniel Cummings, president, POET-DSM Advanced Biofuels, LLC
  • Michael McAdams, president, Advanced Biofuels Association 
  • Prabhakar Nair, executive vice-president of business development, LanzaTech 
  • Michele Rubino, vice-president of business and corporate development, Beta Renewables 
  • Christopher Standlee, executive vice-president of institutional relationships and governmental affairs, Abengoa Corp. 

Afternoon Keynote

  • Peter W. Davidson, executive director of the Loan Programs Office, U.S. Department of Energy

Breakout Session 1A: Biomass Feedstocks for the Bioeconomy

Breakout Session 1-B: Innovations in Basic Science across Agencies and Offices to Enable Bioenergy

  • Sunil Chandran, director, Biology, Amyris Inc.
  • Paul J. Dauenhauer, professor and co-director, Catalysis Center for Energy Innovation, University of Minnesota
  • John Ralph, professor, Department of Biochemistry, Wisconsin Energy Institute

Breakout Session 1-C: Bringing Biorefineries into the Mainstream

Breakout Session 1-D: The Pitch

Panel of Experts: 

  • Brian Baynes, partner, Flagship Ventures
  • Bill Crump, senior project manager, Leidos Engineering 
  • Geoffrey Duyk M.D., Ph.D., managing director and partner, TPG Alternative and Renewable Technologies/TPG Biotechnology
  • Mark J. Riedy, partner, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP 


Plenary III: Early Market Adopters 

Return to Top

Day Two: June 23, 2015

Day Two Opening Keynotes

  • Reuben Sarkar, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Transportation, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy 
  • Christopher Grundler, director, Office of Air Quality and Transportation, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
  • Robert M. Simon, Principal Advisor to the Director for Energy, Transportation, and Resources, Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President
  • Mark Brodziski, director of the Rural Business-Cooperative Services Energy Division, U.S. Department of Agriculture

Plenary IV: Fuels of the Future: Accelerating the Co-Optimization of Fuels and Engines 

Breakout Session 2-A: The Future of Algae-Based Biofuels 

Breakout Session 2-B: New/Emerging Pathways

Breakout Session 2-C: Biogas and Beyond: Challenges and Opportunities for Advanced Biofuels from Wet-Waste Feedstocks

Breakout Session 2-D: Reaching Your Stakeholders: Effectively Engaging and Educating Key Audiences

  • Melissa Savage, senior program director, National Association of State Energy Officials
  • Joanna Schroeder, editor, 
  • Emily York, vice-president of communications, Abengoa
  • Wendy Rosen, leader, Global Public Affairs, DuPont Industrial Biosciences, DuPont
  • Aaron Wells, communications consultant, Fuels America 

Breakout Session 3-A: Growing a Water-Smart Bioeconomy

Breakout 3-B: The Changing Landscapes for Biobased Chemicals: A Decade After the Top Value Added Chemicals from Biomass 

Breakout Session 3-C: Renewable Gaseous Fuels

Breakout Session 3-D: How States are Promoting Advanced Biofuels 

  • Bruce E. Dale, University Distinguished Professor, Michigan State University
  • Doug Hoelscher, director, Office of State-Federal Relations, State of Iowa
  • Brendan Jordan, vice-president, Great Plains Institute
  • Jacques Beaudry-Losique, senior vice-president, Corporate and Business Development, Algenol 

Plenary V: Biofuels and Sustainability: Acknowledging Challenges and Confronting Misconceptions 

Afternoon Keynote 

  • Gregory L. Rorrer, program director, Energy for Sustainability Program, Division of Chemical, Bioengineering, Environmental, and Transport Systems, National Science Foundation

Conference Close and Thank You

  • Jonathan Male, director, Bioenergy Technologies Office, U.S. Department of Energy

Return to Top