Eligibility Expanded to Include Remote and Island Communities Along the Gulf Coast

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) announced today that applications are open for the Energy Transitions Initiative Partnership Project (ETIPP) through May 19 for remote and island communities seeking technical assistance to transform their energy systems and reduce their vulnerability to energy disruptions. As part of the larger Energy Transitions Initiative (ETI), ETIPP ensures isolated communities have the skills and tools to accelerate their energy resilience planning in the face of increasing risks of extreme weather events, vulnerable energy infrastructures, and changing economic conditions. 

Through the program, DOE, national laboratories, and regional partner organizations will collaborate with communities across the country to provide technical assistance for clean energy and energy efficient solutions, while prioritizing local challenges, values, and goals. The ETIPP network connects communities to local experts and DOE’s national labs—the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, and Sandia National Laboratories—to help them successfully address unique clean energy and energy resilience challenges. Each community will also work with a regional partner that has experience in supporting community-based energy transitions locally and can provide detailed guidance about the program, application process, and relevant resources.  

“ETIPP’s technical assistance is essential to help secluded communities navigate the intersecting challenges of clean energy transitions, high energy costs, and impacts of climate change,” said Caroline McGregor, senior advisor for Energy Transitions and Communities. “Communities we select are among the most vulnerable to these threats, and we’re excited to continue expanding this work to help communities boost their energy resilience.”

This year, ETIPP is expanding its reach to communities along the Gulf of Mexico. Remote and island communities in Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas that meet the eligibility criteria may now apply for technical assistance. The program will select up to two communities to participate in this geographic expansion pilot.

The 2023 application period runs from Feb. 21 to May 19, and interested communities can apply here. Applicants are encouraged to consider community-driven project proposals using energy efficiencies and sustainable technologies that would improve their resilience and offer other community benefits. Visit the ETIPP website or contact ETIPP@nrel.gov to learn more about the program, eligibility, connecting with regional partners, and how to apply.