Explore ETIPP


ETIPP Partner Network

ETIPP Communities


Discover more tools and resources from the Energy Transitions Initiative.

The U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Energy Transitions Initiative Partnership Project (ETIPP) works alongside remote and island communities to transform their energy systems and increase energy resilience through strategic energy planning and the implementation of solutions that address their specific challenges. 

DOE Partners With 9 Island and Remote Communities to Boost Resilience and Plan for Low-Cost Renewable Energy Systems

DOE announced nine communities that will embark on ETIPP projects in 2023. Find out more about the third cohort of ETIPP communities

Learn More About Community Projects

ETIPP communities are competitively selected to participate, with an anticipated 12- to 18-month project per community. The examples of ETIPP communities that follow offer a glimpse into how the program can help island and remote communities reduce their carbon footprint and bolster their energy resilience.

Alaska Longline Fishermen’s Association (ALFA), Alaska

A fishing boat at dock with snow on it, with other boats around it.

The Alaska Longline Fishermen’s Association (ALFA) represents a group of small-boat commercial fishermen in Sitka, Alaska, who work to sustainably harvest halibut, sablefish, and rockfish. ALFA teamed up with ETIPP to understand how to reduce fuel consumption, and find paths toward converting two of its fishing vessels to hybrid power. Ultimately the association hopes to reduce fuel costs and consumption by converting its fleet from diesel to carbon-free power. Learn more about how ETIPP is helping ALFA reduce its carbon emissions.

Ouzinkie, Alaska

A body of water with a large hill with 5 wind turbines on top.

Ouzinkie, Alaska—a remote community of about 200 people in the Kodiak Archipelago—has relied on power from diesel generators and a hydroelectric turbine that will need to be replaced in the coming years. The community partnered with ETIPP researchers to better understand how to reduce its reliance on diesel fuel and incorporate renewable energy technologies into its power system. Through ETIPP, Ouzinkie identified potential new technologies to supplement its power generation, as well as options for improving the reliability of its existing electricity system. Learn more about Ouzinkie’s work with ETIPP.

Sitka, Alaska

Boats at a dock with a snowy mountain in the background.

Sitka, Alaska, is an island town of about 8,500 residents in southeast Alaska. Seasonal lake hydropower and a diesel microgrid power Sitka, where high heating requirements, intensive hospital activities, and the seasonal fishing industry drive energy demands. Sitka partnered with ETIPP to identify opportunities for grid decarbonization and clean energy generation that would be cost-efficient and reliable. ETIPP developed a model for the Sitka grid, assessing energy potential from solar, wind, and ocean sources, and evaluating green energy export options to help Sitka reduce its carbon footprint and optimize its microgrid without negative consequences for ratepayers. Learn more about ETIPP’s work in Sitka.

Map of ETIPP Communities

Use the interactive map below to explore ETIPP energy resilience projects in remote and island communities across the United States.


If you have questions about ETIPP, contact ETIPP@nrel.gov.