The Department of Energy’s team includes appointees of the Biden-Harris Administration, who are responsible for implementing President Joe Biden’s vision for tackling the climate crisis and building an equitable clean energy future. Guided by their expertise, breadth of experience, and commitment to following the science, these appointees will help the Administration create a clean energy economy that produces millions of good-paying American jobs and safeguards the planet for future generations.

Appointees listed in alphabetical order

Shalanda H. Baker
Deputy Director for Energy Justice & Secretary’s Advisor on Equity
Jeremiah Baumann
Deputy Chief of Staff 
David Bloom
Speechwriter, Office of Public Affairs
Luke Branscum
Special Assistant, Office of Congressional and Intergovernmental Affairs
Vanessa Z. Chan
Chief Commercialization Officer and Director of the Office of Technology Transitions
Robert Cowin
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Public Engagement
Tanya Das
Chief of Staff, Office of Science
Christopher Davis
Senior Advisor, Office of the Secretary of Energy
Emily Doran
Special Assistant, Office of Fossil Energy
Ali Douraghy
Chief of Staff, Office of the Under Secretary for Science & Energy
Lavianna Felder
Special Assistant, Office of Energy Jobs
Miles Fernandez
Director of the Office of the Executive Secretariat
Julius Goldberg-Lewis
Deputy White House Liaison
Robert Golden
Special Advisor to the Chief of Staff
Caroline Grey
White House Liaison
Vanessa Grisko
Special Assistant to the Chief of Staff
Christiana Ho
Special Assistant to the Secretary of Energy
Cate Hurley
Press Assistant, Office of Public Affairs
Wahleah Johns
Senior Advisor, Office of Indian Energy Policy and Programs
Todd Kim
Deputy General Counsel for Litigation, Regulation, and Enforcement
Jennifer Jean Kropke
Director of Energy Jobs
Kevin Liao
Press Secretary, Office of Public Affairs
Andrew Light
Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary
Yahaira Lopez
Deputy Chief of Staff
Anthony Martinez
Digital Director, Office of Public Affairs
David A. Mayorga
Director of Public Affairs
Shara Mohtadi
Chief of Staff, Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
Elizabeth Noll
Deputy Assistant Secretary for House Affairs, Office of Congressional Affairs
Ali Nouri
Senior Advisor, Office of the Secretary
Sandie Raines
Special Assistant to the Deputy Secretary
Juliana Rodriguez
Special Assistant for Advance
Hannah Schanzer
Special Assistant, Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
Jigar Shah
Executive Director, Loan Programs Office
Tarak Shah
Chief of Staff
Karen Skelton
Senior Advisor, Office of the Secretary of Energy
Kristin Slevin
Director of Scheduling, Office of Management
Jacob Smith
Special Assistant, Office of the Under Secretary for Science and Energy
Kelly Speakes-Backman
Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary & Acting Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
Suzanna Steele
Special Assistant to the White House Liaison
Narayan Subramanian
Legal Advisor, Office of General Counsel
Frances Swanson
Special Assistant, Office of International Affairs
Shuchi Talati
Chief of Staff, Office of Fossil Energy
Natalie Tham
Special Assistant, Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy
Dr. Jennifer Wilcox
Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary (PDAS) for Fossil Energy
Avi Zevin
Deputy General Counsel for Energy Policy