The Defense Programs Advisory Committee (DPAC) provides advice and recommendations to the Deputy Administrator for Defense Programs on the stewardship and maintenance of the Nation's nuclear deterrent.

DPAC Charter

  1. Committee’s Official Designation. Defense Programs Advisory Committee (DPAC)
  2. Authority. The DPAC is established under the authority of Department of Energy (DOE) . The DPAC is being renewed in accordance with the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), as amended, 5 U.S.C., App. 2.
  3. Objectives and Scope of Activities. The DPAC will provide advice and recommendations to the Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration (DOE/NNSA) Deputy Administrator for Defense Programs (DP) on the stewardship and maintenance of the Nation’s nuclear deterrent. The activities of the DPAC will include, but are not limited to
    1. Periodic reviews of the diverse, major activities of the Office of Defense Programs including:
      1. Assessment of the U.S. nuclear weapons stockpile;
      2. The science, technology and engineering infrastructure needed to maintain the U.S. stockpile and the overall U.S. nuclear deterrent; and
      3. The U.S. nuclear weapons manufacturing and production complex facilities and related technologies.
    2. Ongoing analysis of the DP mission and its foundation in national strategic policy (including the Nuclear Posture Review, provisions of the New START Treaty and other relevant treaties).
    3. Potential application of DP capabilities to broader national security issues.
    4. Analysis of DP management issues including facility operations and fiscal matters.
    5. Where appropriate, analysis of issues of broader concern to DOE/NNSA.
  4. Description of Duties. The duties of the DPAC are solely advisory.
  5. Official(s) to whom the Committee Reports. The DPAC will report to the DOE/NNSA’s Under Secretary for Nuclear Security and Administrator through the Deputy Administrator for Defense Programs.
  6. Agency Responsible for Providing Necessary Support. The Department of Energy. Within DOE, primary support shall be furnished by DOE/NNSA’s Office of Defense Programs.
  7. Estimated Annual Operating Costs and Staff Years. The estimated annual cost associated with supporting the DPAC is approximately $275,000, including one-half full-time employee.
  8. Designated Federal Officer (DFO). A full-time or permanent part-time DOE/NNSA employee, appointed in accordance with agency procedures, will serve as the Designated Federal Officer (DFO). The DFO will also appoint a Deputy DFO who is a career full-time or permanent part-time DOE/NNSA employee. The DFO (designee or Deputy DFO), will approve and call all DPAC and any subcommittee meetings, prepare and approve all meeting agendas, attend DPAC meetings, and adjourn any meeting when the DFO determines adjournment to be in the public interest.
  9. Estimated Number and Frequency of Meetings. The DPAC will meet periodically, approximately two to four times a year.
  10. Duration. The DPAC is expected to be continuing in nature.
  11. Termination. The DPAC terminates two years after the Charter filing date and may not meet unless the Charter is renewed biennially. In addition, the DPAC can be terminated upon the decision of the Deputy Administrator for Defense Programs (or his/her designee) should the Committees’ services no longer be required.
  12. Membership and Designation. The DPAC will be comprised of not more than 15 members, who will be appointed by the DOE/NNSA Under Secretary for Nuclear Security and Administrator. Members shall be recognized experts in their respective scientific and/or technical field and will be appointed as special Government employees or representatives of entities including, but not limited to research facilities and academic institutions, should the DPAC’s tasks require such representation. The Chair and Vice Chair of the DPAC will be appointed by the Deputy Administrator for Defense Programs from among the DPAC members.

    Members of the DPAC will serve without compensation. However, each member may be reimbursed in accordance with Federal Travel Regulations per 41 CFR 301, Temporary Duty Travel Allowances, for authorized travel and per diem expenses incurred while attending DPAC meetings or subcommittee meetings. Members of the DPAC must hold a Department of Energy “Q” security clearance.
  13. Subcommittees. To facilitate the functioning of the DPAC, subcommittees may be formed with DFO (designee or Deputy DFO) approval. The objectives of the subcommittees are to make recommendations to the full Committee with respect to particular matters related to the responsibilities of the full Committee. Subcommittees may not work independently of the full Committee and must report their recommendations and advice to the full Committee for deliberation and discussion. Subcommittees have no authority to make decisions on behalf of the parent Committee, nor can they report directly to the DOE/NNSA.
  14. Recordkeeping. The records of the DPAC shall be handled in accordance with General Records Schedule 6.2 and Administrative Records Schedule 16, Item 8b(1.1), and approved agency records disposition schedule. These records shall be available for public inspection and copying, subject to the Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. 552.
  15. Filing Date. Date filed with Congress: February 8, 2021

DPAC Members

  • Dr. John Casani, former Chief Engineer, Special Assistant to the Director, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Dr. Jolie Cizewski, Distinguished Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy, Rutgers University
  • RADM (ret) Stephen Johnson, former Director, Navy Strategic Systems Programs
  • Dr. Jeffrey Quintenz, Senior Vice President, General Atomics (retired) former Director, Office of Inertial Confinement Fusion, NNSA
  • Dr. Allan Hauer, Los Alamos National Laboratory (retired) and former director, Office of Inertial Confinement Fusion, NNSA (retired)
  • Dr. Donald L. Cook, former Deputy Administrator for Defense Programs, NNSA
  • Dr. John R. Harvey, former Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Nuclear, Chemical and Biological Defense Programs
  • Dr. Cherry A. Murray, Benjamin Peirce Professor of Technology and Public Policy and Professor of Physics former Director, Office of Science, Department of Energy
  • Dr. Anthony David Rollett, U.S. Steel Professor of Materials Science & Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Dr. Christopher Yeaw, Director Center for Assurance, Deterrence, Escalation, and Nonproliferation Science & Education, Louisiana Tech Research Institute
  • Dr. Steve Zinkle, Governor’s Chair Professor in the Nuclear Engineering and Materials Science & Engineering Departments, University of Tennessee