Intergovernmental Group

The Office of Environmental Management supports, by means of grants and cooperative agreements, a number of institutionalized activities and relationships with various national intergovernmental organizations.  These organizations include the Energy Communities Alliance (ECA), the Environmental Council of States (ECOS), the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG), the National Governors Association (NGA), and the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)’s Nuclear Legislative Working Group, and State and Tribal Governments Working Group (STGWG).

Since 2003, all of the intergovernmental groups have met together annually in a single forum to enhance collaboration and cooperation. This combined Intergovernmental Meeting allows senior EM officials to meet and discuss important issues with all the affected state, local and tribal government officials.  Additionally, in order to follow up from action items developed at the meeting, the groups convened a Combined Intergovernmental Working Group (CIWG). The CIWG consists of two members of each of the intergovernmental groups along with representatives from the department.  The CIWG hosts regular conference calls to circulate new ideas and information among the groups, as well as to plan the combined Intergovernmental meetings.

Mark Watson, Oak Ridge City Manager, Rick Reiss, Los Alamos County Councilor, and Pam Larson, Hanford Communities Executive Director, address the audience during the ECA spring meeting.


DOE Guide to Financial Assistance



David Borak