DOE is actively involved with other Federal agencies that have responsibilities for the radiation protection of the public and the environment. This site provides the different committees and working groups that DOE is involved with.

  • Interagency Steering Committee on Radiation Standards (ISCORS): The ISCORS is comprised of 8 Federal agencies 3 Federal observer agencies and two state observer agencies who facilitate consensus on acceptable levels of radiation risk to the public and workers and promote consistent risk approaches in setting and implementing standards for protection from ionizing radiation.
  • Multi-Agency Radiation Survey and Site Investigation Manual (MARSSIM) Working Group: The MARSSIM Workgroup is an ongoing collaborative effort to bring consistency to the methods and processes used to demonstrate compliance with federal and state radiation regulations. The Working group includes staff members from the DOE, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), the Department of Defense (DoD), and the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). These agencies have the primary responsibility for managing radioactive materials within the Federal Government.