On February 20, 2019, DOE announced the 12 collegiate teams selected to participate in the 2020 Collegiate Wind Competition:

  • California State University, Chico
  • California State University Maritime Academy
  • James Madison University
  • University of Maryland
  • University of New Haven
  • Northern Arizona University
  • The Pennsylvania State University
  • Texas Tech University
  • Tuskegee University
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Washington State University-Everett with Everett Community College
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison.

The selected colleges and universities will compete in multidisciplinary challenges to develop a project plan based on wind energy market and siting considerations, design and build a model wind turbine, and test their turbine against a set of rigorous performance criteria. Students will earn valuable real-world experience as they prepare to enter the workforce. The 2020 competition will take place at AWEA's WINDPOWER Conference in Denver, Colorado, on June 1–4, 2020.