Zero Energy Ready Home Housing Innovation Awards Selection Policy

The Housing Innovation Awards recognize leading builders’ homes that are certified under the DOE Zero Energy Ready Home (ZERH) program. DOE Zero Energy Ready Homes represent a whole new level of home performance, with rigorous requirements that ensure outstanding levels of energy savings, comfort, health and durability.

To qualify for the Housing Innovation Awards, homes must meet Zero Energy Ready Home program requirements. Builders who apply for Housing Innovation Awards must submit a completed Housing Innovation Awards application and all required documentation including; images of the home, floor plans, and documentation of ZERH verification. There are five housing type categories for recognition:

  • Affordable 
  • Attached
  • Custom for Buyer 
  • Custom Spec
  • Multifamily
  • Production

Applications are reviewed based on the following selection criteria:

  • Performance Metrics
  • Land Development
  • Design
  • Quality Construction
  • Sales and Marketing
  • Consumer Education
  • Business Metrics

These criteria are used to select Housing Innovation Award "Winners" along with one "Grand Winner" for each of the housing type categories. Additionally, some non-winning entries may be selected for "Special Honors" recognition. An independent panel of building industry experts serve as judges supporting this selection process.