The 2018 U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Race to Zero Student Design Competition (Race to Zero) had students from 40 teams, representing 34 collegiate institutions, competing to design cost-effective, zero energy buildings.

The Race to Zero encourages students to work with builders, developers, community leaders, and other industry partners to meet stringent design requirements and create marketable, affordable concepts. Below are the winners of the annual competition, which took place on April 20–22, 2018, at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in Golden, Colo. 

View the presentations and project summaries from the winning teams, or learn about the 2018 competition jurors.

2018 Winning Teams

Grand Winner

Prairie View A&M University

Suburban Single-Family Housing Contest

First place
The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pa.
Second place
University of Missouri-Columbia, Columbia, Mo.

Urban Single-Family Housing Contest

First place
Prairie View A&M University
Second place
Ball State University, Muncie, Ind.

Attached Housing Contest

First place
University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada 

Second place
Miami University, Oxford, Ohio 

Small Multifamily Housing Contest

First place
Miami University, Oxford, Ohio
Second place
Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, Ill.

Elementary Schools Contest

First place
Middlebury College, Middlebury, Vt.
Second place
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, Va.

2018 Finalist Collegiate Institutions

The collegiate institutions were:

  • Appalachian State University
  • Ball State University
  • CEPT University
  • Dr. Bhanuben Nanavati College of Architecture for Women
  • Georgia Institute of Technology 
  • Humboldt State University
  • Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Jefferson University
  • Kansas State University
  • Louisiana State University
  • Manchester School of Architecture
  • Miami University
  • Middlebury College
  • Norwich University
  • Prairie View A&M University
  • Queen's University
  • Red Rocks Community College
  • Rhode Island School of Design
  • Ryerson University
  • State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
  • Syracuse University
  • Tennessee State University
  • The Pennsylvania State University
  • The University of Arizona
  • United States Military Academy at West Point
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Miami
  • University of Missouri-Columbia
  • University of New South Wales
  • University of the District of Columbia
  • University of Waterloo
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Weber State University.