For general questions regarding the Bioenergy Technologies Office, please use the contact information below.

U.S. Department of Energy – Bioenergy Technologies Office
General Contact Information
Phone: 202-586-5188
Email: Bioenergy Technologies Office
1000 Independence Avenue, SW, EE-3B, 5H-021
Washington, DC, 20585

Please note: Due to mail screening procedures for federal agencies, your letter may take up to 6 weeks to reach the Bioenergy Technologies Office.

Media Inquiries

For media inquiries please email the EERE communications team at

BETO Staff


Valerie Sarisky-Reed, Director
John Cabaniss, Deputy Director
Jay Fitzgerald, Chief Scientist
Reyhaneh Shenassa, Chief Engineer

Kevin Craig, Program Manager, Conversion Technologies
Jay Fitzgerald, Program Manager, Data, Modeling, and Analysis
Nichole Fitzgerald, Program Manager, Renewable Carbon Resources
Jim Spaeth, Program Manager, Systems Development and Integration


Colleen Tomaino, Operations Supervisor
Natalie Roberts, Operations Manager
Linda Malloy, Executive Assistant 

Strategic Communications

Sheila Dillard, Communications Lead

Renewable Carbon Resources

Daniel Fishman
Christy Sterner
Mark Elless 
Elizabeth Burrows
Chenlin Li
Dana Mitchell
Alexander Jansen

Conversion Technologies

Gayle Bentley
Sonia Hammache
Beau Hoffman
Trevor Smith

Systems Development and Integration

Joshua Messner
Mark Shmorhun
Ben Simon
Remy Biron
Robert Natelson

Data, Modeling, and Analysis

Zia Haq, Senior Lead Analyst
Andrea Bailey
Michael Shell