Better Buildings Neighborhood Program award recipients were selected through two competitive funding opportunity announcements (FOA):

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) selected 34 EECBG recipients and seven SEP recipients in 2010. The 41 Better Buildings award recipients were required to comply with DOE and American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) program regulations and guidance, as described in their award special terms and conditions. DOE made a number of resources available to help grant recipients administer their programs and comply with federal financial assistance policies and regulations.