Video Url

Watch the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers cermony at Energy Department headquarters in Washington, D.C. 

Video courtesy of the Department of Energy

The Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) recognizes scientists and engineers who, while early in their research careers, show exceptional potential for leadership at the frontiers of scientific knowledge. The PECASE Award was established in 1996 and is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on outstanding scientists and engineers beginning their independent research careers. The awards are conferred annually at the White House following recommendations from participating agencies. 

Here are the Energy Department's recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers listed by state and research Institution: 


Félicie Albert, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Daniel Casey, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Jim Ciston, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Jacklyn Gates, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Richard Kraus, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Shiwoo Lee, National Energy Technology Laboratory

Lin Lin, University of California – Berkeley

Arthur Pak, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Timothy Silverman, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Michael Wagner, National Renewable Energy Laboratory


Stephanie Law, University of Delaware – Newark


Vivek Agarwal, Idaho National Laboratory

Krzysztof Gofryk, Idaho National Laboratory

Christopher Zarzana, Idaho National Laboratory


Matthew Dietrich, Argonne National Laboratory

Henry Hoffmann, University of Chicago

Julia Shelton, University of Illinois – Urbana-Champaign

Rebecca Schulman, Johns Hopkins University

Yen-Jie Lee, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Tracy Slatyer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Erik Grumstrup, Montana State University


Marylesa Howard, Nevada National Security Site

New Mexico

Salvatore Campione, Sandia National Laboratories

Matthew Gomez, Sandia National Laboratories

Abigail Hunter, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Shea Mosby, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Paul Schmit, Sandia National Laboratories

Irina Tezaur, Sandia National Laboratories

New York

Thomas Hartman, Cornell University


Kelly Wrighton, Ohio State University


Douglas Kauffman, National Energy Technology Laboratory

Jordan Musser, National Energy Technology Laboratory


David Cullen, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Katharine Page, Oak Ridge National Laboratory


Justin Stevens, College of William and Mary


Alvin Cheung, University of Washington

Kevin Schneider, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory


Jonathan Engle, University of Wisconsin – Madison

Victor Zavala, University of Wisconsin – Madison

Related Articles