You are here

STANFORD, CA – On December 3-4, 2018, the U.S. Department of Energy, Stanford Energy’s Precourt Institute for Energy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Energy Initiative (MITEI), and Texas A&M Energy Institute, hosted the Seventh Annual U.S. Clean Energy Education and Empowerment (C3E) Women in Clean Energy Symposium at Stanford. Nine accomplished women (eight mid-career awardees and one Lifetime Achievement awardee) were recognized at the Symposium for their achievements and leadership in clean energy. U.S. Deputy Secretary of Energy Dan Brouillette gave a keynote address at the Symposium, commemorating this year’s awardees.

“Now in its seventh year, C3E has been proven a very successful and thriving collaboration. On behalf of the Department of Energy, I would like to congratulate this year’s award winners,” said U.S. Deputy Secretary of Energy Dan Brouillette. “Your impressive work and your strong, clear advocacy in encouraging women to become leaders in the energy industry are vital to a strong and secure energy future. Thank you for playing such an important role in inspiring the next generation of women leaders and for leading by example.”

“Stanford Energy was honored to host this year’s symposium, which recognized nine really outstanding women leaders in clean energy,” said Sally Benson, co-director of the Precourt Institute for Energy at Stanford University. “Between these awardees and all the female chief executives at utilities today, we can say that the gender gap is narrowing significantly in clean energy.”

Elizabeth A. (Betsy) Moler was this year’s recipient of the C3E Lifetime Achievement award. Her career is notable for its broad experience in both government and industry. She was a staff member on Capitol Hill for 20 years and served as Senior Counsel for the United States Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources from 1976 to 1988. She was appointed by three U.S. Presidents – Ronald Reagan, George H. W. Bush, and Bill Clinton – to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) where she served from 1988 until 1997. She was designated FERC Chair in 1993. Under her leadership, FERC adopted a landmark initiative to require utilities to open their transmission lines to their competitors on an equal-access basis. In 1997, she was appointed Deputy Secretary at the Department of Energy. After leading Exelon Corporation’s Washington, DC office for more than 10 years, she retired as Executive Vice President of Government Affairs and Policy. She currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Climate Action Reserve.

The eight other women who received awards were recognized in the following categories:

  • Advocacy – Melanie Santiago-Mosier is Program Director for Access & Equity for Vote Solar, a non-profit organization for solar energy, working to expand access to solar for low-income communities by developing policy solutions. She previously served as a regional policy director for SunEdison, led government affairs efforts at the Maryland Public Service Commission and Washington Gas Energy Services, and served as counsel and policy analyst for the Maryland General Assembly.

  • Business – Libby Wayman, Investor at Breakthrough Energy Ventures, previously served as the Global Director of Innovation for General Electric’s (GE’s) Ecomagination strategy and led GE strategy development in the energy sector. She has also served as the Director for the Department of Energy’s Clean Energy Manufacturing Initiative.  

  • Education – Lilo Pozzo is Weyerhaeuser Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering and a member of the faculty of the Clean Energy Institute at the University of Washington. She conducts research that supports the advancement of next-generation solar energy and battery materials and devices, as well as their integration with systems and the grid.

  • Entrepreneurship – Dr. Molly Morse is Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder of Mango Materials, a San Francisco Bay Area-based start-up that produces a naturally-occurring biopolymer from waste biogas (methane) which is economically competitive with conventional oil-based materials. She is a biopolymers and biocomposites engineer and has contributed to multiple patents. She also has experience consulting in venture capital.

  • Government – Aimee Barnes is Senior Advisor to California Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. and former Deputy Secretary for border and intergovernmental relations at the California Environmental Protection Agency (CalEPA). She was previously a partner at Allotrope Partners, an investment firm specializing in early-stage companies in the carbon and clean energy sectors, and served as an international climate change policy advisor for the United Arab Emirates (UAE) Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

  • International – Tania Laden is Co-Founder and Executive Director of LivelyHoods, a non-profit social enterprise that distributes life-changing products in Kenya through a nationwide sales network of unemployed youth and women. She previously served as Director of Business Development at Kito International and Financial Advisor at Morgan Stanley Smith Barney.

  • Law and Finance – Lauren Cochran is Managing Director at Blue Haven Ventures where she leads strategy and execution for the family office’s portfolio of early-stage investments in sub-Saharan Africa. She previously worked at Imprint Capital where she made investments across the developing world in for-profit businesses seeking to improve standards of living, create economic opportunity, and better the environment while also generating a financial return.

  • Research – Ah-Hyung (Alissa) Park is Lenfest Chair in Applied Climate Science of Earth and Environmental Engineering & Chemical Engineering and Director of the Lenfest Center for Sustainable Energy at Columbia University. Her research areas include alternative energy production and sustainable energy conversion pathways, with an emphasis on integrated carbon capture, utilization, and storage (CCUS).

    For more information on the C3E Initiative and awardees, visit the C3E website HERE.