Arctic Energy Ambassadors Logo - Header.png

Development of new sustainable energy projects across Alaska will gain the support of knowledgeable and experienced local experts through the Arctic Energy Ambassadors program. Established by the Arctic Energy Office, in collaboration with the Denali Commission and the Alaska Municipal League, this innovative initiative will empower 12 practitioners from each of Alaska’s diverse regions with the goal of fostering energy security and advancing the clean energy transition across the state.

Developed in alignment with the U.S. Department of Energy’s Arctic Strategy, the program will cultivate regional, place-based, and collaborative energy leadership. Ambassadors will benefit through shared resources, knowledge-sharing partnerships, and access to technical assistance, to help drive sustainable projects across Alaska.

This strategic collaboration led by the Arctic Energy Office is financially supported by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Arctic Energy Office, the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, and the Office of State and Community Energy Programs.

The passionate and community-focused Ambassadors were selected through a competitive application process for their experience and connections to regional energy development, grant writing skills, and support from their host organizations. They will be tasked with articulating community and regional needs, connecting stakeholders, promoting capacity development, facilitating regional technical assistance, and developing replicable projects.

Our Arctic Energy Ambasadors

We are pleased to announce the cohort of the first class of the Arctic Energy Ambassadors, along with information about their region of Alaska they are representing and their host organizations. You can learn more about the Ambassadors on the Alaska Municipal League's website. Contact Trisha Sims at with any questions about the Arctic Energy Ambassadors program.

Kristina D. Andrew

  • Region: Bristol Bay
  • Host Organization: Bristol Bay Native Organization 

Eddie Dellamary

  • Region: Interior
  • Host Organization: Tanana Chiefs Conference 

Robert Venables

  • Region: Southeast
  • Host Organization: Southeast Conference

Sean Glasheen

  • Region: Calista
  • Host Organization: Nuvista Light & Electric Cooperative, Inc.

Reuben Brown

  • Region: Chugach
  • Host Organization: PWS Economic Development District

Amanda Toerdal

  • Region: Bering Strait
  • Host Organization: Kawerak, Inc

Cassidi Cameron

  • Region: Cook Inlet
  • Host Organization: Kenai Peninsula Economic Development District

Leann Sommer

  • Region: Ahtna
  • Host Organization: Alaska. Federation of Natives

Tyler Kornelis

  • Region: Kodiak
  • Host Organization: Kodiak Area Native Association

Chan Charoonsophonsak

  • Region: North Slope
  • Host Organization: National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Kathleen M. Stuckey

  • Region: Northwest Arctic 
  • Host Organization: Atautchikun, LLC



Map of the Regions of the Arctic Energy Ambassadors
Map of the Regions of the Arctic Energy Ambassadors