Energy Secretary Jennifer M. Granholm
Secretary of the Interior Deb Haaland

Energy Secretary Jennifer Granholm, Interior Secretary Deb Haaland, and Deputy Secretary of Energy David Turk kicked off the series on Nov. 17, 2021, with a virtual panel discussion and focus on arctic infrastructure and deployment opportunities. Webinar topics include:

  • Build Back Better for Alaska, North to the Future of Energy, Alaska and the Arctic as a proving ground
  • Capacity building, workforce issues, energy justice (especially for Alaska Natives)
  • Transportation needs for a state and region with significant remote access, including transportation electrification
  • Leveraging federal agency expertise and resources.

Program Agenda and Speakers

11:00–11:02 a.m. AKST     
Meeting logistics overview by FedTech

11:02-11:07 a.m. AKST     
Welcome and Introduction by U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Interim Arctic Energy Office (AEO) Director George Roe

11:07–11:12 a.m. AKST     
ArcticX Kickoff by Deputy Secretary of Energy David Turk 
Watch remarks

11:12-11:22 a.m. AKST    
Q&A with Deputy Secretary David Turk
Watch Q&A

11:22–11:27 a.m. AKST     
Welcome video from U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI) Secretary Deb Haaland 
Watch remarks

11:27–noon. AKST     
Panel discussion on challenges and opportunities in the Arctic. 
Moderator: George Roe, Interim Director, DOE Arctic Energy Office. 

  • What are the unique challenges and barriers to commercializing technologies in the Arctic region, and how are we addressing the gaps?
  • What are the biggest opportunities for tech transfer and commercialization in the Arctic? 
  • How are the National Labs helping create a clean, secure energy future for the Arctic?

Panelists included:

  • Vanessa Chan, DOE Chief Commercialization Officer and Office of Technology Transitions Director
  • Raina Thiele, DOI Arctic Advisor 
  • Sally Benson, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, Deputy Director for Energy and Chief Strategist for the Energy Transition

Watch discussion

Noon–12:15 p.m. AKST     
Q&A session with Moderator George Roe

12:15–12:18 p.m. AKST 
Introduction of Secretary Jennifer Granholm by Dr. Vanessa Chan

12:18–12:23 p.m. AKST     
Closing comments by Secretary Granholm
Watch remarks

12:23–12:30 p.m. AKST
Closing comments/next steps by Dr. Vanessa Chan
Watch remarks


Energy Secretary Jennifer M. Granholm

Jennifer Granholm
Secretary of Energy

Read full biography



Deb Haaland

Deb Haaland
Secretary of the Interior

Read full biography



David Turk

David Turk
Deputy Secretary of Energy

Read full biography



Raina Thiele

Raina Thiele
Senior Advisor to the Secretary of the Interior for Alaska Affairs, U.S. Department of the Interior

Read full biography



Dr. Vanessa Z. Chan

Dr. Vanessa Chan
Chief Commercialization Officer and Director, Office of Technology Transitions, U.S. Department of Energy

Read full biography



George Roe
UAF, JR Ancheta

George Roe
Interim Director, Arctic Energy Office, U.S. Department of Energy

Read full biography