You are here

A map of the Department of Energy National Laboratories

The Department of Energy (DOE) is responsible for the effective stewardship of 17 world-class national laboratories, 10 of which are under the purview of the Office of Science (SC). The Office of Laboratory Policy develops uniform SC-specific policies related to the management, operation, and overall well-being-of the ten DOE SC national laboratories. In addition, the Office works to ensure that these laboratories are focused, individually and collectively, on achieving the DOE mission, that government resources and support are allocated to ensure their long-term scientific and technical excellence, and that a proper balance exists among them between competition and collaboration.