Task Force Background

The Federal Smart Grid Task Force was established under Title XIII of the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (EISA) and includes experts from numerous Federal agencies. The Office of Electricity leads the Task Force which includes members from the Department's Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, and the National Energy Technology Laboratory. 

Task Force Mission

The mission of the Task Force is to ensure awareness, coordination and integration of the diverse Federal Government activities related to smart grid technologies, practices, and services. In addition to bringing together various federal agencies to collaborate and share ideas,  the Task Force also collaborates with DOE's Electricity Advisory Committee and other relevant industry stakeholders.

Task Force Members

  • Department of Energy (DOE)
    • Office of Electricity (OE)
    • Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE)
    • National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL)
  • U.S. Department of Commerce (DOC)
  • International Trade Administration (ITA)
  • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC)
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) – Science and Technology Directorate
  • U.S. Department of State
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) – Rural Utility Service (RUS)
  • Department of Defense (DOD)
  • Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
  • Federal Trade Commission (FTC)
  • General Services Administration (GSA)
  • U.S. Trade and Development Agency (USTDA)



Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 Title XIII - Smart Grid
Smart Grid Primer
The Smart Grid: An Introduction
Smart Grid eForum
Smart Grid Implementation Workshop Results (June 2008)