About the Office of Electricity

You are here

The Office of Electricity (OE) provides national leadership to ensure that the Nation’s energy delivery system is secure, resilient and reliable. OE works to develop new technologies to improve the infrastructure that brings electricity into our homes, offices, and factories, and the federal and state electricity policies and programs that shape electricity system planning and market operations.


OE drives electric grid modernization and resiliency in the energy infrastructure.

OE leads the Department of Energy’s efforts to ensure a resilient, reliable, and flexible electricity system. OE accomplishes this mission through research, partnerships, facilitation, and modeling and analytics.


E-MAIL: OEwebmaster@hq.doe.gov
PHONE: 202-586-1411
FAX: 202-586-1472
MAIL: Office of Electricity
U.S. Department of Energy
1000 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20585