Official portraits of Kimberly Rasar and Kenneth Vincent

The Office of Fossil Energy (FE) is proud to announce that its own Kimberly Rasar and Kenneth Vincent recently received Gears of Government Awards for their outstanding performance.

The Gears of Government Awards recognize individuals and teams across the federal workforce whose dedication supports exceptional delivery of key outcomes for the American people. In particular, the awards recognize workers who provide exemplary missions results, customer service, and accountable stewardship.

Government agencies and executive councils make awards on a rolling basis to selected individuals and teams.

FE’s Chief of Staff Kenneth Vincent received his Gears of Government Award for his work leading a strategic review of the U.S. Strategic Petroleum Reserve (SPR). Ken worked with Congress and the Executive Branch to make needed improvements to the SPR that would ensure it could continue to protect the country from energy supply disruptions.

Opened in 1977 in response to the 1973–74 oil embargo, the SPR is the world’s largest supply of emergency crude oil, housed at four sites within the Gulf Coast region. In the event of an energy emergency, the President can use this resource to distribute needed oil through competitive sales. Most recently, in 2017, the SPR provided oil to refiners along the Gulf Coast affected by Hurricane Harvey, helping to avoid oil disruptions across the country.

FE’s Deputy Assistant Secretary of Operations Kimberly Rasar received her Gears of Government Award for her efforts in modernizing FE’s management, IT, and workforce practices to better align with industry best practices. Kimberly also led the implementation of a strategic communications plan for the America First Energy Plan. The President’s America First Energy Plan involves maximizing the use of America’s vast untapped energy resources, while boosting our economy, protecting our national security, and protecting the environment. 

Congratulations, Kimberly and Ken!

Read more about the winners here.