Read about the 2020 winner, runners up, and honorable mention recipients of the Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies Office (HFTO) Postdoctoral Recognition Award.


Eun Joo Park, Los Alamos National Laboratory

This award recognizes Dr. Eun Joo Park from Los Alamos National Laboratory for outstanding research contributions to developing polymer electrolytes for next-generation electrochemical devices, including fuel cells, electrolyzers, and flow batteries.

Eun Joo Park's award presentation: Development of Polymer Electrolytes for Electrochemical Devices

Eun Joo Park Headshot

Runners Up

Luigi Osmieri, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

This award recognizes Dr. Luigi Osmieri from the National Renewable Energy Laboratory for research contributions to synthesize and characterize platinum-group-metal-free electrodes for fuel cells and electrolyzers.

Luigi Osmieri's award presentation: Platinum Group Metal-Free Catalysts for Proton Exchange Membrane Fuel Cells: Electrode Diagnostics for Performance and Durability

Luigi Osmieri Headshot

Guosong Zeng, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

This award recognizes Dr. Guosong Zeng from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory for research contributions to advance light-activated semiconductor cathodes to produce hydrogen via photoelectrochemical water splitting.

Guosong Zeng's award presentation: Self-Improving GaN/Si Photocathode in PEC Water Splitting

Guosong Zeng Headshot

Honorable Mention

Michael Gerhardt, Lawrence Berkley National Laboratory

Sadia Kabir, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Brian Kagay, Sandia National Laboratories

Sunikumar Khandavalli, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Daniel Leonard, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Dongguo Li, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Xiaoyan (Jessica) Luo, Lawrence Berkley National Laboratory

Chenyu Wang, Los Alamos National Laboratory