Southeastern Power Administration was created in 1950 by the Secretary of the Interior to carry out the functions assigned to the Secretary by the Flood Control Act of 1944. In 1977, Southeastern was transferred to the newly created United States Department of Energy. Southeastern, headquartered in Elberton, Georgia, is responsible for marketing electric power and energy generated at reservoirs operated by the United States Army Corps of Engineers. This power is marketed to more than 491 preference customers in the states of Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, southern Illinois, Virginia, Tennessee, Kentucky, North Carolina, and South Carolina.

Video Url

Learn more about the Southeastern Power Administration and its rich history.


The objectives of Southeastern are to market electric power and energy generated by the Federal reservoir projects while encouraging widespread use of the power at the lowest possible cost to consumers. Power rates are formulated based on sound financial principles. Preference in the sale of power is given to public bodies and cooperatives, referred to as preference customers. Southeastern does not own transmission facilities and must contract with other utilities to provide transmission, or “wheeling” services, for the Federal power.


Southeastern’s responsibilities include the negotiation, preparation, execution; and administration of contracts for the sale of electric power; preparation of repayment studies to set wholesale rates; the provision, by construction, contract or otherwise, of transmission and related facilities to interconnect reservoir projects and to serve contractual loads; and activities pertaining to the operation of power facilities to ensure and maintain continuity of electric service to its customers.