Logo for The Partnership for Transatlantic Energy Cooperation (P-TEC)
The Partnership for Transatlantic Energy Cooperation (P-TEC)

Who We Are:

The Department of Energy’s Office of International Affairs coordinates P-TEC,  an international platform designed to provide policymakers and civil-society stakeholders within Eastern and Central Europe with the resources and technical tools to build secure and resilient energy systems. The United States, 22 European countries[1] , and the European Union participate in the P-TEC initiative. Support for European-based energy security efforts, including the European Union’s Energy Union framework and the Three Seas Initiative[2], is a cornerstone of the P-TEC initiative.

What We Do:

P-TEC focuses on technical collaboration in a number of key areas, including:

  1. providing analysis and planning for natural gas and electricity transmission systems integration,
  2. ensuring energy cybersecurity best practices,
  3. promoting new capital investment in key energy infrastructure, and
  4. improving energy efficiency and clean energy deployment, including in the renewable energy, nuclear energy, and fossil energy sectors.


[1] Countries and organizations participating in P-TEC include: Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, the European Union, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine, and the United States.

[2] The Three Seas Initiative, launched in 2016 by 12 Central and Eastern European EU member countries, recognizes the needs to develop a North-South corridor in energy, telecommunication and transportation. In doing so, the Three Seas Initiative aims to: promote closer economic integration, increase competitiveness, bolster economic resilience, and continue efforts to build a single European energy market. More information on the Three Seas Initiative can be found at: https://3seas.eu/.