The U.S. Department of Energy has announced the 32 preliminary teams of college and university students, who will participate in the 2024 Collegiate Wind Competition during the first half of the 2023–2024 school year. 

The 2024 Collegiate Wind Competition preliminary teams represent: 

  • Brigham Young University 
  • California Polytechnic State University 
  • California State University Maritime Academy 
  • City College of New York 
  • Iowa State University  
  • Johns Hopkins University 
  • Kansas State University 
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology 
  • Massachusetts Maritime Academy 
  • Northern Arizona University 
  • Oklahoma State University with Northern Oklahoma College 
  • Pennsylvania State University 
  • Purdue University with Manitoba University 
  • Rice University 
  • Rutgers University 
  • Texas Tech University with South Plains Community College 
  • University of California, Los Angeles 
  • University of Colorado Boulder 
  • University of Houston 
  • University of Massachusetts Lowell 
  • University of Memphis 
  • University of Michigan 
  • University of New Hampshire 
  • University of New Orleans 
  • University of North Carolina at Charlotte 
  • University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez 
  • University of Texas at Dallas 
  • University of Texas at San Antonio 
  • University of Wisconsin 
  • Virginia Tech University with James Madison University 
  • Washington State University with Everett Community College 
  • Western Michigan University Kalamazoo Valley Community College. 


A map of the United States with several states colored next to a list of colleges and universities sorted by those states. The title reads, "2024 Preliminary Teams" and the graphic includes the U.S. Department of Energy Collegiate Wind Competition logo and the hashtag #CollegiateWind

Meet the 2024 Collegiate Wind Competition preliminary teams.

Graphic by the U.S. Department of Energy

Collegiate Wind Competition News