You are here

DOE appoints two new members to advisory board

March 19, 2013 - 12:00pm


The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) appointed two new members to its Oak Ridge Site Specific Advisory Board (ORSSAB). Susan Cange, deputy manager for DOE’s Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management, introduced Robert Craig and Belinda Price as the latest appointees at the board’s meeting on March 13. ORSSAB is a federally chartered citizens’ panel that provides independent advice and recommendations to DOE, which is responsible for the cleanup of the Oak Ridge Reservation.

Craig, an Oak Ridge resident, is retired from MSE Technology Applications, where he served as regional vice president until March 2012. He has been involved in investigating, evaluating, and managing environmental issues on the Oak Ridge Reservation for more than 35 years. He holds Bachelor of Science and Master of Arts degrees in Zoology and a doctorate in ecology from the University of California. He serves as secretary of the Y-12 Federal Credit Union board of directors, and he is a member of the Audubon Society, the World Wildlife Fund, and the National Wildlife Federation.

Belinda Price is a senior hydrogeologist with Alliant Corporation, where she has been employed since October 2011. She has more than 25 years experience in environmental investigation and environmental remediation as a geologist, hydrogeologist, and task/project manager. Belinda received a Bachelor of Science degree in Geology from the University of Bristol, U.K. and a Master of Science degree in Hydrogeology from University College London, the University of London, U.K. She is a certified professional geologist in the states of Alabama, California, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, and Tennessee, and she is a member of the Geological Society of America and the East Tennessee Geological Society. Belinda lives in Knoxville.

The ORSSAB meets the second Wednesday of each month at 6 p.m. at the Office of Science and Technical Information, 1 Way in Oak Ridge. Meetings of the board and its committees are open to the public.