You are here

Federal Energy and Water Management Awards

Each year, the Federal Energy Management Program (FEMP), in conjunction with the Federal Interagency Energy Policy Committee, sponsors the Federal Energy and Water Management Awards, which honor individuals and organizations making significant contributions to energy and water efficiency within the federal government.

The awards recognize outstanding achievements in:

  • Energy and water efficiency and conservation
  • Renewable energy implementation
  • Sustainable practices for high-performance buildings
  • Fleet and transportation management.

2015 Call for Nominations

The Federal Energy Management Program (FEMP) released the 2015 Criteria and Guidelines for the Federal Energy and Water Management Awards. Accompanying documents include Frequently Asked Questions and a one-page Quick Reference Sheet. The awards nomination website will open to accept nominations by February 18, 2015. Nominations must be submitted to FEMP by April 30, 2015.

FEMP is offering one-hour informational meetings on February 25, 2015, and March 19, 2015, that will provide an overview of the 2015 awards criteria and eligibility requirements, as well as give tips on how to prepare nomination narratives. Register for the meetings.


Contact Jennifer Landsman with questions about the about the Federal Energy and Water Management Awards.

Find your federal agency energy coordinator for submitting award nominations.

Best Practices

To inspire agencies and spread the word about reducing energy and water consumption in the federal government, FEMP produced the following case studies that feature the best practices of three 2011 Federal Energy and Water Management Award recipients.

Past Award Winners

Federal Energy and Water Management Award winners are available by year.