U.S. Department of Energy Electricity Advisory Committee

Electricity Advisory Committee Meeting, February 2018

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

12:00 to 1:00 pm	EAC Leadership Committee Meeting Registration (Entrance Corridor) • Public Sign-up for Comments on Day 2 Swearing in for New SGE Members (EAC Meeting Room)
1:00 to 1:15 pm	Welcome, Introductions, Developments since the September 2017 Meeting Michael Heyeck, EAC Chair and Matthew Rosenbaum, EAC Designated Federal Officer
1:15 to 1:30 pm	Update on the DOE Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability (OE) Programs and Initiatives Bruce Walker, Assistant Secretary, DOE-OE
1:30 to 2:25 pm	Regulatory Reform EAC discussion moderated by Michael Heyeck, EAC Chair
2:25 to 2:35 pm	EAC Smart Grid Subcommittee Update Marilyn Brown, EAC Smart Grid Subcommittee Vice Chair
2:35 to 2:50 pm	EAC Power Delivery Subcommittee Update John Adams, EAC Power Delivery Subcommittee Chair
2:50 to 3:30 pm	EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Update Ramteen Sioshansi, EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Chair Seek EAC Approval for Work Product: Alternative Energy Storage Technologies
3:30 to 3:45 pm	Break
3:45 to 5:45 pm	 Panel Session: Rate, Tariff, and Market Design for Energy Storage Moderator: Ramteen Sioshansi, Energy Storage Subcommittee Chair Panelists: Hisham Othman, VP Transmission & Regulatory Services, Quanta Technology Scott Baker, Business Solutions Engineer, PJM Commissioner Carla Peterman, California Public Utilities Commission Arnie Quinn, Director, Office of Energy Policy and Innovation, FERC
5:45 to 5:55 pm	Wrap-up and Adjourn Day 1 of February 2018 Meeting of the EAC Michael Heyeck, EAC Chair
6:00 pm	No-Host Dinner for EAC Members and DOE Staff Pinzimini at the Westin

Electricity Advisory Committee Meeting, February 2018, continued

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Prior to 8:00 am	Breakfast on your own
8:00 to 8:30 am	Presentation: Mutual Assistance Agreements Evolution Dave Bonenberger, VP, Distribution Operations, PPL Electric Utilities, and Chair, National Response Executive Committee, EEI
8:30 to 10:30 am	 Panel Session: Emergency Response and Resilience in Recovery Efforts Moderator: John Adams, Power Delivery Subcommittee Chair Panelists: Steve Greenley, VP, Distribution Power Delivery, CenterPoint Energy Charles Brower, Director, Engineering and Dispatch, AEP Texas Tom Gwaltney, Sr. Director, Central Maintenance, Florida Power and Light
10:30 to 10:45 am	Break
10:45 to 11:45 am	Presentation: FERC Update Commissioner Cheryl LaFleur
11:45 am to 12:00	Reflections on Today's Panel and Presentations EAC discussion
12:00 to 12:05 pm	Public Comments Must register at time of check-in
12:05 to 12:15 pm	Wrap-up and Adjourn February 2018 Meeting of the EAC Michael Heyeck, EAC Chair