U.S. Department of Energy Electricity Advisory Committee

Electricity Advisory Committee Meeting June 2017

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

12:00 to 1:00 pm 12:00 to 1:00 pm	EAC Leadership Committee Meeting Registration Public Sign-up for Comments on Day 2
1:00 to 1:15 pm	Welcome, Introductions, Developments since the March 2017 Meeting Sue Tierney, EAC Chair and Matthew Rosenbaum, EAC Designated Federal Officer
1:15 to 1:30 pm	Update on the DOE Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability (OE) Programs and Initiatives Katie Jereza, Deputy Assistant Secretary, Transmission Permitting & Technical Assistance, DOE-OE
1:30 to 2:00 pm	Grid Modernization Initiative Working Group Activities and Plans Anjan Bose, Grid Modernization Initiative Working Group Chair Seek EAC Approval for Work Product: Review of the DOE Grid Modernization Initiative
2:00 to 2:40 pm	Update on the GMLC Program and Initiatives & EAC Discussion Bill Parks, Senior Technical Advisor, DOE-OE Kevin Lynn, Director, Grid Integration, DOE-EERE
2:40 to 2:55 pm	Break
2:55 to 4:30 pm	Gas-Electric Integration: Panel & Discussion Moderator: Granger Morgan, EAC Member Sue Tierney, EAC Chair and Senior Advisor, Analysis Group Bob Ethier, Vice President-Market Operations, ISO New England Alex Rudkevich, Project Lead, ARPA-E Gas-Electric Co-Optimization
4:30 to 4:40 pm	Break
4:40 to 5:10 pm	EAC Smart Grid Subcommittee Activities and Plans Paul Centolella, Smart Grid Subcommittee Chair Seek EAC Approval for Work Product: DER Valuation and Integration
5:10 to 5:40 pm	EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Activities and Plans Merwin Brown, Energy Storage Subcommittee Chair Chris Shelton. Energy Storage Subcommittee Vice Chair Seek EAC Approval for Work Product: High Penetration of Energy Storage
5:40 to 5:55 pm	EAC Power Delivery Subcommittee Activities and Plans John Adams, Power Delivery Subcommittee Chair
6:00 pm	No-Host Dinner for EAC Members and DOE Staff Pinzimini at the Westin

Electricity Advisory Committee in-Person Meeting Cont.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

Prior to 8:00 am	Breakfast on your own
8:00 to 8:15 am	Welcome: Overview of Energy Storage Session During the EAC June 2017 Meeting Merwin Brown, EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Chair Janice Lin, EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Member
8:15 to 8:45 am	Session Scope and Objectives: Overview of Energy Storage and Key Trends Janice Lin, EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Member and Session Moderator *Introduction of Cross-Panel Contributors (see list on page 3)
8:45 to 9:45 am	Power Sector Vulnerabilities: Panel & Facilitated Discussion Moderator: Janice Lin, EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Member Granger Morgan, Professor, Dept. of Eng. & Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University Damian Sciano, Director, Distributed Resource Integration, Consolidated Edison Mark Lauby, Senior Vice President and Chief Reliability Officer, NERC
9:45 to 10:00 am	Break
10:00 to 11:15 am	Advances in Energy Storage for System Reliability and Resiliency: Panel & Discussion Moderator: Janice Lin, EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Member Mark Irwin, Director of Energy Contract Management, Southern California Edison Fred Hoover, Senior Program Director, National Association of State Energy Officials Praveen Kathpal, Vice President, AES Energy Storage
11:15 to 11:45 am	Lunch Break Return with lunch for working lunch
11:45 to 1:00 pm	Storage and Microgrids - New Applications: Panel & Discussion Moderator: Janice Lin, EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Member Paul Hibbard, Principal, Analysis Group Mark Vanderhelm, Vice President, Energy, Walmart Jessie Denver, Energy Program Manager, San Francisco Dept. of the Environment Ariel Castillo, Senior Program Manager, US Department of Defense
1:00 to 1:30 pm	Regional Resiliency and Security with Bulk Storage: Presentation & Discussion Richard Walje, CEO, Magnum Compressed Air Energy Storage
1:30 to 2:45 pm	Take-Aways and Key Themes: Facilitated Discussion EAC Members and Invited Panelists
2:45 to 2:55 pm	Public Comments Must register with meeting facilitators
2:55 to 3:00 pm	Wrap-up and Adjourn June 2017 Meeting of the EAC Sue Tierney, EAC Chair

CONTINUED: Thursday, June 8, 2017	
8:00 am to 3:00 pm	*Cross-Panel Contributors:
	 US Dept. of Energy – Infrastructure Security and Energy Restoration (ISER) Puesh Kumar, Director, Preparedness and Exercises, DOE-OE
	 US Senate – Committee on Energy & Natural Resources Patrick J. McCormick III, Chief Counsel, ENR
	 US House of Representatives – House Committee on Energy and Commerce Tom Hassenboehler, Chief Counsel for Energy and Environment, CEC
	 Labor Representative – IBEW Terry Coleman, Director, Electrical Training ALLIANCE, IBEW
	 Project Finance Representative – GAF Materials Corporation Tony Ruffine, Vice President, GAF
	 Developer Representative – AES Energy Storage Kiran Kumaraswamy, Market Development Director, AES