

Department of Energy Privacy Steering Committee Charter

A. OBJECTIVE

The purpose of the Department of Energy (DOE) Privacy Steering Committee (EPSC) is to advise the Senior Agency Official for Privacy (SAOP) and the Department's Privacy Program, providing recommendations to improve policies and program initiatives including breach response and notification, Privacy Impact Assessments, and other privacy matters.

The EPSC is an essential component of DOE's ongoing efforts to identify processes to eliminate the unnecessary use of SSNs, and to safeguard Personally Identifiable Information (PII) while mitigating risks where the use of SSNs is authorized by a law, regulation or DOE Directive to fulfill a mission of the Department.

B. AUTHORITY

The EPSC is established at the direction of the Senior Agency Official for Privacy (SAOP).

C. DURATION

The EPSC will exist until terminated by the SAOP.

D. MEMBERSHIP

The Chief Privacy Officer will chair the EPSC. The EPSC will consist of representatives from the Office of Management, Office of the Chief Information Officer, Office of Human Capital Management, Office of General Counsel, the National Nuclear Security Administration, the Program Secretarial Offices, and other members on an "as-needed" basis.

E. PROCEDURES

The EPSC Chair shall determine the meeting schedule and structure. The use of "proxy" attendees is discouraged so as to maintain continuity of the membership and integrity of the collaboration process.

The SAOP may direct unscheduled EPSC meetings as necessary to address urgent privacy matters.

The EPSC Chair will provide the SAOP with a semi-annual activities report. As necessary, the EPSC may establish cross-functional working groups to examine privacy issues.

The EPSC will provide working groups with its specific mission and milestones. The working groups will provide status reports to the EPSC as determined by the Chair.

F. APPROVAL

Signature on File
Jerry G. Hanley
Chief Privacy Officer

