INDUSTRIAL TECHNOLOGY INNOVATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE U.S. Department of Energy

Advisory Committee Charter

- 1. **COMMITTEE'S OFFICIAL DESIGNATION**: Industrial Technology Innovation Advisory Committee.
- 2. **AUTHORITY**: The Industrial Technology Innovation Advisory Committee (Committee) was established pursuant to the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007, Pub. Law 110-140, (hereafter, "EISA") as amended by Pub. Law 116-260. ITIAC is being renewed in accordance with the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), as amended, 5 U.S.C. §10. This charter renews the Committee under the authority of the U.S. Department of Energy.
- 3. **OBJECTIVES AND SCOPE OF ACTIVITIES**: The Committee will advise the Secretary of Energy (Secretary) with respect to the Industrial Emissions Reductions Technology Development Program (the program) by identifying and evaluating any technologies being developed by the private sector relating to the focus areas described in section 454(c) of the EISA; identifying technology gaps in the private sector or other Federal agencies in those focus areas, and making recommendations on how to address those gaps; surveying and analyzing factors that prevent the adoption of emissions reduction technologies by the private sector; and recommending technology screening criteria for technology developed under the program to encourage adoption of the technology by the private sector. The Committee shall also develop a strategic plan on how to achieve the program's goals and, in consultation with the Secretary and the Director of the Office of Science and Policy (Director), propose missions and goals for the program consistent with the purposes of the program described in section 454(b)(1) of the EISA.
- 4. **DESCRIPTION OF DUTIES**: The duties of the Committee are solely advisory in nature and include, as set out in section 455 of the EISA, the development of a strategic plan on how to achieve the program's goals and submitting, not less frequently than once every 3 years, reports to the Secretary on the progress of achieving the purposes of the program.
- 5. **OFFICIAL(S) TO WHOM THE COMMITTEE REPORTS**: The Committee provides its advice to the Secretary, through the Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, who works in coordination with the Director.
- 6. **AGENCY RESPONSIBLE FOR PROVIDING NECESSARY SUPPORT FOR THIS COMMITTEE**: The Department of Energy (DOE). Within DOE, primary support shall be furnished by the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy.
- 7. **ESTIMATED ANNUAL OPERATING COSTS AND STAFF YEARS**: The estimated annual operating cost of direct support to the Committee and potential subcommittees is \$350,000; inclusive of 0.7 full-time equivalent (FTE) for support.

- 8. **DESIGNATED FEDERAL OFFICER (DFO)**: A full-time or permanent part-time DOE employee, appointed in accordance with agency procedures, will serve as the Designated Federal Officer (DFO). The DFO will approve or call all of the Committee's and subcommittees' meetings, prepare and approve all meeting agendas, attend all Committee and subcommittee meetings, adjourn any meeting when the DFO determines adjournment to be in the public interest, and chair meetings when directed to do so by the Secretary.
- 9. **ESTIMATED NUMBER AND FREQUENCY OF MEETINGS**: The Committee will meet not less frequently than two times per year, at the call of the Chair.
- 10. **DURATION**: Continuing in nature.
- 11. **TERMINATION:** Not applicable. However, the Committee may not meet or take any action if the Charter is not renewed biennially. The Committee shall terminate if section 455 of the EISA is repealed.
- 12. **MEMBERSHIP and DESIGNATIONS**: The Committee shall be comprised of not fewer than 16 members and not more than 20 members, who shall be appointed by the Secretary, in consultation with the Director. Committee members will be appointed to serve as representatives, Federal Government employees, and special Government employees (SGEs) in accordance with the following membership requirements articulated in the EISA:
 - Not less than 1 representative of each relevant Federal agency, as determined by the Secretary;
 - Chair of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board, if that position is filled;
 - Not less than 2 representatives of labor groups;
 - Not less than 3 representatives of the research community, which shall include academia and National Laboratories;
 - Not less than 2 representatives of nongovernmental organizations;
 - Not less than 6 representatives of small- and large-scale industry, the collective expertise of which shall cover every focus area described in section 454(c) of the EISA;
 - Not less than 1 representative of a State government; and
 - Any other individuals the Secretary, in coordination with the Director, determines
 to be necessary to ensure that the Committee is comprised of a diverse group of
 representatives of industry, academia, independent researchers, and public and
 private entities.

Committee members will serve for a term of up to two years, and may be reappointed for up to two successive terms. Appointments may be made in a manner that allows the terms of the members serving at any time to expire at spaced intervals to ensure continuity in the functioning of the Committee. Committee members will serve at the discretion of the Secretary.

The Chairperson of the Committee will be selected by the Secretary. The Chairperson will serve a two-year term and may be reappointed for an additional term.

Committee members serve without compensation; however, members may be reimbursed in accordance with the Federal Travel Regulations for authorized travel and per diem expenses.

- 13. **SUBCOMMITTEES**: To facilitate the functioning of the Committee, subcommittees may be formed with DOE approval. The objectives of the subcommittees are to make recommendations to the parent Committee with respect to particular matters related to the responsibilities of the parent Committee. Such subcommittees or workgroups may not work independently of the chartered Committee and must report their recommendations and advice to the full Committee for full deliberation and discussion. Subcommittees or workgroups have no authority to make decisions on behalf of the chartered Committee, nor can they report directly to DOE.
- 14. **RECORDKEEPING**: The records of the Committee, formally and informally established subcommittees, or other subgroups of the Committee, shall be handled in accordance with General Records Schedule 6.2, Administrative Records Schedule 16, Item 8b (1.1) and approved agency records disposition schedule. These records shall be available for public inspection and copying, subject to the *Freedom of Information Act*, 5 U.S.C. § 552.

15. FILING DATE:

Date filed with Congress: April 19, 2024

Shena A. Kennerly
Shena A. Kennerly

Acting Committee Management Officer