Environmental Management Advisory Board

U.S. Department of Energy

Advisory Board Charter

- 1. Committee's Official Designation. Environmental Management Advisory Board.
- 2. Authority. The Environmental Management Advisory Board (EMAB or the Board) is established under the authority of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The Board is being renewed in accordance with the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, as amended, 5 U.S.C. §10.
- 3. Objectives and Scope of Activities. The Board provides advice and recommendations to the Assistant Secretary for Environmental Management on Office of Environmental Management (EM) corporate issues including, but not limited to, project management and oversight, cost/benefit analyses, program performance, human capital development, environmental justice, and contracts and acquisition strategies.
- 4. **Description of Duties.** The duties of the Board are solely advisory in nature.
- 5. Official(s) to Whom the Committee Reports. The Board reports to the Assistant Secretary for Environmental Management.
- 6. Agency Responsible for Providing Necessary Support for this Committee. The Department of Energy. Within the Department, primary support shall be furnished by EM.
- 7. Estimated Annual Operating Costs in Dollars and Staff Years. The estimated annual operating costs associated with supporting the Board are approximately \$400,000, including 0.75 staff years of Federal employee support.
- 8. Designated Federal Officer. A full-time or permanent part-time DOE employee, appointed in accordance with agency procedures, will serve as the Designated Federal Officer. The Designated Federal Officer (or designee) will approve or call for all of the Board's and subcommittees' meetings, prepare and approve all meeting agendas, attend all Board and subcommittee meetings, and adjourn any meeting if adjournment is determined to be in the public interest.
- **9.** Estimated Number and Frequency of Meetings. The Board will meet semi-annually, or as deemed appropriate by the Assistant Secretary for EM.
- **10. Duration.** Continuing in nature.
- **11. Termination.** The Board terminates two years from the Charter filing date and may not meet if the Charter is not renewed biennially.

12. Membership and Designation. The Board will be comprised of approximately 20 members appointed by the Secretary of Energy. Members shall be experts in their respective fields and appointed as special Government employees, or as representatives of entities including, not limited to, research facilities, academic institutions, regulatory entities, and stakeholder organizations, should the Board's tasks require such representation. The Chair and Vice Chair of the Board will be appointed by the Assistant Secretary for EM from among the Board members.

Members of the Board serve without compensation; however, each member may be reimbursed in accordance with the Federal Travel Regulations for authorized travel and per diem expenses incurred in service to the Board.

- 13. Subcommittees. DOE has the authority to form subcommittees or workgroups. The objectives of the subcommittees are to make recommendations to the parent Board with respect to particular matters which are related to the responsibilities of the parent Board. Such subcommittees or workgroups may not work independently of the chartered Board and must report their recommendations and advice to the full Board for deliberation and discussion. Subcommittees and workgroups have no authority to make decisions on behalf of the chartered Committee, nor can they report directly to DOE. Subcommittee members are appointed with DOE approval.
- 14. **Recordkeeping.** The records of the Board shall be handled in accordance with General Records Schedule 6.2 and Administrative Records Schedule 16, Item 8b (1.1), and approved agency records disposition schedules. These records shall be available for public inspection and copying, subject to the Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. 552.

15. Filing Date.

Date filed with Congress: January 12, 2024.

Jun E. Butler

Sarah E. Butler Committee Management Officer