

Washington, DC 20585



December 7, 2021

## MEMORANDUM FOR HEADS OF DEPARTMENTAL ELEMENTS

FROM:	JOSH SILVERMAN JOSH SUL
	OFFICE OF ENVIRONMENT PROTECTION AND ES&H REPORTING
	OFFICE OF ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, SAFETY AND SECURITY

SUBJECT:	Department of Energy (DOE) Guidance on Reporting Per- and
	Polyfluoroalkyl Substances (PFAS)-Containing Aqueous Film-
	Forming Foam (AFFF) Releases or Spills to the Environment

The Office of Environment, Health, Safety and Security was tasked with modifying the Departmental Occurrence Reporting and Processing System (ORPS) to accept PFAS release entries and issue guidance on reporting PFAS releases in the attached September 16, 2021 memorandum from the Deputy Secretary entitled: *Addressing Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances at the Department of Energy* (attachment 1).

The attached DOE guidance document, entitled: *Department of Energy (DOE) Guidance on Reporting Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances (PFAS)-Containing Aqueous Film-Forming Foam (AFFF) Releases or Spills to the Environment* (attachment 2), provides background information regarding PFAS, the new ORPS Database Reporting Criterion, and the new ORPS Database Headquarters Keyword.

Beginning December 15, 2021, PFAS-containing AFFF releases or spills to the environment must be reported using the new reporting criterion [Group 5, Subgroup A, (5)] in the ORPS Database.

For PFAS policy and technical assistance, please contact Ms. Ashley Ruocco at 301-903-7010 or <u>Ashley.Ruocco@hq.doe.gov</u>. For OPRS Database questions, please contact Mr. Ross Natoli at 301-903-6096 or <u>Ross.Natoli@hq.doe.gov</u>.

Attachments

- Memorandum from the Deputy Secretary, Addressing Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances at the Department of Energy, dated September 16, 2021
- Department of Energy (DOE) Guidance on Reporting Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances (PFAS)-Containing Aqueous Film-Forming Foam (AFFF) Releases or Spills to the Environment, dated December 2021

## Distribution:

Under Secretary for Nuclear Security and Administrator, NNSA, NA-1 Office of Artic Energy, AE-1 Artificial Intelligence and Technology Office, AITO Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy, AR-1 Manager, National Relations Office, BPA Chief Financial Officer, Office of the Chief Financial Officer, CF-1 Assistant Secretary for Congressional & Intergovernmental Affairs, CI-1 Assistant Secretary for Cybersecurity, Energy Security & Emergency Response, CR-1 Office of Enterprise Assessments, EA-1 Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy, EE-1 Administrator, Energy Information Administration, EI-1 Assistant Secretary for Environmental Management, EM-1 Assistant Secretary for Fossil Energy and Carbon Management, FE-I General Counsel, Office of General Council, GC-1 Chief Human Capital Officer, Office of the Chief Human Capital Officer, HC-1 Office of Hearings & Appeals, HG-1 Assistant Secretary for International Affairs, IA-1 Office of Indian Energy Policy and Programs, IE-1 Inspector General, Office of the Inspector General, IG-1 Chief Information Officer, Office of the Chief Information Officer, IM-1 Office of Intelligence and Counterintelligence, IN-1 Office of Legacy Management, LM-1 Office of Loan Programs, LP-1 Office of Management, MA-1 Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy, NE-1 Assistant Secretary for Electricity, OE-1 Office of the Ombudsman, OO Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization, SB-1 Office of Science, SC-1

## <u>CC</u>:

Cynthia K. Baebler, Ames Site Office (SC-AMSO) Joanna Livengood, Argonne Site Office (SC-ASO) Paul Golan, Bay, Area Site Office, (SC-BASO) Robert Gordon, Brookhaven Site Office (SC-BHSO) Reinhard Knerr, Carlsbad Field Office (CBFO) Kenneth Tarcza, Chicago – Consolidated Service Center (SC-CSC) Derek Passarelli, Golden Field Office (GFO) Richard Verhaagen, Fermi Site Office (SC-FSO) Robert Boston, Idaho Operations Office (NE-ID) Jeff Shoulta, Kansas City Field Office (NA-KC) Peter Rodrik, Livermore Field Office (NA-LL) Michael Mikolanis, Los Alamos Field Office (EM-LA) Ted Wyka, Los Alamos Site Office (NA-LA)

Karen Boardman, National Training Center (NTC) David Bowman, Nevada Field Office (NA-NV) Teresa Robbins, NNSA Production Office (NA-NPO) Johnny Moore, ORNL Site Office (SC-OSO) Michele Branton, ORNL Site Office (SC-OSO) Laure Wilkerson, Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management (EM-OR) Brian Vance, Office of River Protection (ORP) Roger Snyder, Pacific Northwest Site Office (SC-PNSO) Joel Bradburne, Portsmouth Paducah Project Office (PPPO) Sandra Rogan, Princeton Site Office (SC-PSO) Brian Vance, Richland Operations Office (RL) Daryl Hauck, Sandia Field Office (NA-SN) Jason Armstrong, Savannah River Field Office (NA-SV) Michael Budney, Savannah River Operations Office (SR) Joseph Arango, Thomas Jefferson Site Office (SC-TJSO) John Hairston, Bonneville Power Administration Virgil G. Hobbs III, Southeastern Power Administration Mike Wech, Southwestern Power Administration Tracey LeBeau, Western Area Power Administration