Federal Advisory Committee (FAC) Membership Balance Plan U.S. Department of Energy

- (1) **Federal Advisory Committee Name:** Industrial Technology Innovation Advisory Committee (Committee or ITIAC).
- (2) Authority: The Committee is established pursuant to the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007, Pub. Law 110-140 (hereafter, "EISA") as amended by Pub. Law 116-260 and in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), as amended, 5 U.S.C., App. 2, and the rules and regulations in implementation of that Act. The Committee is established under the authority of the Department of Energy.
- (3) **Mission/Function:** The Committee is established to advise the Secretary of Energy (Secretary) with respect to the Industrial Emissions Reductions Technology Development Program (the program) by identifying and evaluating any technologies being developed by the private sector relating to the focus areas described in section 454(c) of the EISA; identifying technology gaps in the private sector or other Federal agencies in those focus areas, and making recommendations on how to address those gaps; surveying and analyzing factors that prevent the adoption of emissions reduction technologies by the private sector; and recommending technology screening criteria for technology developed under the program to encourage adoption of the technology by the private sector. The Committee shall also develop a strategic plan on how to achieve the program's goals and, in consultation with the Secretary and the Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy (Director), propose missions and goals for the program consistent with the purposes of the program described in section 454(b)(1) of the EISA.
- (4) **Points of View:** EISA directs the Secretary to appoint not fewer than 16 members and not more than 20 members. The members shall be appointed by the Secretary, in consultation with the Director, to serve as representatives, Federal Government employees, and special Government employees (SGEs) in accordance with the following membership requirements articulated in the EISA:
 - Not less than 1 representative of each relevant Federal agency, as determined by the Secretary;
 - Chair of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board, if that position is filled;
 - Not less than 2 representatives of labor groups;
 - Not less than 3 representatives of the research community, which shall include academia and National Laboratories;
 - Not less than 2 representatives of nongovernmental organizations;
 - Not less than 6 representatives of small- and large-scale industry, the collective expertise of which shall cover every focus area described in section 454(c) of EISA;
 - Not less than 1 representative of a State government; and
 - Any other individuals the Secretary, in coordination with the Director, determines to be necessary to ensure that the Committee is comprised of a diverse group of representatives of industry, academia, independent researchers, and public and private entities.

Committee members will serve for a term of up to two years, and may be reappointed for up to two successive terms. Appointments may be made in a manner that allows the terms of the members serving at any time to expire at spaced intervals to ensure continuity in the functioning of the Committee. Committee members will serve at the discretion of the Secretary.

The Chairperson of the Committee will be selected by the Secretary. The Chairperson will serve a two-year term and may be reappointed for an additional term.

Committee members will meet periodically, approximately twice a year. When vacancies occur, the Secretary will, in consultation with the Director, identify appointment nominees who can address the Committee's needs pursuant to EISA.

- (5) **Other Balance Factors:** Other factors to be considered for committee membership include demographic, professional, and experiential diversity. In addition, the Secretary and the Director will strive for the Committee to reflect the principles of inclusion, equity, and diversity, and to ensure that the Committee's recommendations strive for equitable distribution of benefits for all Americans, including people of color and others who have been historically underserved, marginalized, and adversely affected by persistent poverty and inequality. The Secretary and the Director also will strive for geographic diversity in the composition of the Committee.
- (6) **Candidate Identification Process:** The Designated Federal Officer (DFO) will identify candidates for appointment to the Committee by obtaining nominations from within DOE and from external regulatory and stakeholder organizations on an annual basis as needed to fill membership vacancies and obtain balance in points of view.

Additionally, open calls for candidates may be published on the ITIAC website and in the *Federal Register*. The DFO will develop a short list of the best qualified candidates with the technical expertise and relevant points of view needed to maintain balance and fulfill the Committee's mission, in coordination with the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE) management. The resulting top candidates are contacted for interest and availability, and nominated for appointment to the Committee. The candidate list will be evaluated by the Assistant Secretary for EERE (for critical mission needs), the Office of General Counsel (for balance, evaluation of conflicts of interest issues, and the absence of any Federal registered lobbyists issues), the Under Secretary for Science and Innovation (for relevance to the Department's mission) and the Committee Management Officer (for balance and FACA requirements).

Letters of invitation to serve are extended by the Secretary of Energy. If any vacancies occur during the life of the Committee, the DFO may review the initial candidate list, identify the best qualified candidates to replace the missing point of view, and initiate the review process as described above, or begin a new candidate identification process. Committee members will be appointed for a two-year term, and may be reappointed for up to two successive terms. Appointments may be made in a manner that allows the terms of the members serving at any time to expire at spaced intervals to ensure continuity in the

functioning of the Committee. The Secretary, or designee, will consult with the Director, or designee, as part of the candidate identification and membership process.

- (7) **Subcommittee Balance:** Subcommittee membership is drawn from that of the full ITIAC and thus reflects much of the balance described above. Additionally, technical experts may be appointed to the subcommittee in order to provide additional expertise and fulfill any lacking points of view relative to the subcommittee's mission/function.
- (8) **Other:** Not Applicable
- (9) Date Prepared/Updated. April 2022