

## FACT SHEET

## Secretary of Energy Advisory Board

**What:** The Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB) is an Advisory Committee formed under the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) as amended, 5 U.S.C., App. 2. The SEAB provides advice and recommendations to the Secretary of Energy on the Administration's energy policies, the Department's basic and applied research and development activities, economic and national security policy, and on any other activities and operations of the Department of Energy, as the Secretary may direct.

**Who:** Member appointment terms are for up to two years and members may be appointed for additional terms. Board members are appointed by the Secretary of Energy.

The SEAB is currently made up of a diverse group of experts from outside the Department of Energy including former DOE officials and pioneering thought leaders such as the first African American graduate of MIT, world renowned nuclear experts, and a "Wind Energy Person of the Year". The SEAB members represent academic institutions, labor unions, utility companies, energy equipment manufacturers, low-income consumers, and non-governmental organizations. Their terms expire in August 2023.

Secretary Granholm's inaugural SEAB is listed below:

- Trenton Allen, Managing Director and CEO, Sustainable Capital Advisors
- Priscilla Almodovar, President and CEO, Enterprise Community Partners Inc
- Norman Bay, Partner, Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP
- Roxanne Brown, International Vice President at Large, United Steel Workers
- Madelyn Creedon, Principal Deputy Administrator of the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) (Ret.)

- John Dabiri, Professor of Aeronautics and Mechanical Engineering, California Institute of Technology
- Noah Deich, President, Carbon180
- Kerry Duggan, Chief Executive Officer, SustainabiliD
- Bryan Garcia, President and CEO, Connecticut Green Bank
- Phil Giudice, Chair, FirstLight Power Resources
- Paula Gold-Williams, President and CEO, CPS Energy
- Denise Gray, President, LG Energy Solution Michigan Inc.

- Shirley Ann Jackson, President, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
- Arun Majumdar, Jay Precourt Provostial Chair Professor, Stanford University
- Captain Tracy Mustin, U.S. Navy (Ret.), Retired as Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Environmental Management, DOE
- Maria Pope, President and CEO, Portland General Electric
- Adrianna Quintero, Senior Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Energy Foundation
- Michael Skelly, Chief Executive Officer, Grid United LLC

**When:** The Board expects to meet quarterly, or as frequently as needed. As required by FACA, the Board will hold open meetings unless the Secretary of Energy determines that a meeting or a portion of a meeting may be closed to the public in accordance with subsection (c) of section 552b of title 5, United States Code.

**Why:** The SEAB provides advice and recommendations to the Secretary of Energy on the Administration's energy policies, the Department's basic and applied research and development activities, economic and national security policy, and on any other activities and operations of the Department of Energy, as the Secretary may direct. The duties of the Board are solely advisory.