

April 7, 2021

MEMORANDUM FOR DISTRIBUTION

FROM: JOSH SILVERMAN

DIRECTOR

OFFICE OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AND

ES&H REPORTING

OFFICE OF ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, SAFETY AND SECURITY

SUBJECT: Guidance for the Preparation of Department of Energy Annual Site

Environmental Reports for Calendar Year 2020

This memorandum transmits guidance for the preparation of Department of Energy (DOE) Annual Site Environmental Reports (ASERs) for Calendar Year (CY) 2020, required by DOE Order (O) 231.1B, Chg 1, *Environment, Safety and Health Reporting* (11-28-2012).

The ASER serves as the principal document for reporting annual site environmental and operating experience performance information within DOE and as a resource for communicating DOE environmental protection performance information to stakeholders and members of the public living near DOE sites. The ASER also serves as the primary mechanism for documenting compliance with DOE's requirements for radiation protection of the public and environment per DOE O 458.1, Admin Chg 4, *Radiation Protection of the Public and the Environment* (9-15-2020).

Copies of the CY 2020 ASERs must be distributed and made available to the public by October 1, 2021. As the DOE O 231.1B functions and responsibilities of the former Office of Health, Safety and Security are now assigned to the Office of Environment, Health, Safety and Security, the copy of the ASER required for the former Chief of Health, Safety and Security should be submitted to my attention at the Office of Environmental Protection and ES&H Reporting (AU-20), within the Office of Associate Under Secretary for Environment, Health, Safety and Security.

The 2020 guidance updates are marked with change bars or a vertical line on the side margin of each page. This is so reviewers may easily identify what has changed from the previous year's guidance. If you have questions regarding the attached guidance, please contact Alicia Williamson at (202) 586-7272 or by e-mail at Alicia.Williamson@hq.doe.gov. The attached guidance is also available at http://energy.gov/ehss/policy-guidance-reports/environment-policy-guidance-reports/environmental-reports.

Attachment:

Guidance for Preparation of the 2020 Department of Energy Annual Site Environmental Reports

Distribution List for Guidance for Preparation of the 2020 Department of Energy Annual Site Environmental Reports

John Hairston, BPA
Nathan Martin, EA-1
Kelly Speakes-Backman, EE-1
William White, EM-1
Jennifer Wilcox, FE-1
Rocky Campione, IM-1
Carmelo Mendez, LM-1
Ingrid Kolb, MA-1
Charles Verdon, NA-1
Dennis Miotla, NE-1
Stephen Binkley, SC-1
Virgil Hobbs III, Administrator, SEPA
Michael Wech, Administrator, SWPA
Tracey LeBeau, Interim Administrator, WAPA

Courtesy Copy List for Guidance for Preparation of the 2020 Department of Energy Annual Site Environmental Reports

Jim Dillard, AU-11 Gregory Sosson, EM-3 James J. McConnell, NA-50

Ted Wyka, NA-50
Daniel Sigg, NA-51
Greg Hatchett, NA-51
Lynn Maestas, NA-513
Danny Field, NA-513
Patrick Romero, NA-513
Mary McCune, NE-3
Jeff Shoulta, NA-KC
Michael Weis, NA-LA
Frank Lowery, NA-MB-1
Geoffrey Beausoleil, NA-NPO

David Bowman, NA-NV Jeff Harrell, NA-SN Jeffrey Allison, NA-SV Karen Boardman, NTC Marcus Jones, SC-41

Cynthia K. Baebler, SC-AMSO

Rock Aker, SC-ASO

Joanna Livengood, SC-ASO Robert Gordon, SC-BHSO Tom McDermott, SC-CSC

Karl Moro, SC-CSC

Kenneth Tarcza, SC-CSC Rick Verhaagen, SC-FSO Roger E. Snyder, SC-PNSO Sandra Rogan, SC-PSO

Michele Branton, SC-OSO Johnny O. Moore, SC-OSO

Paul M. Golan, SC-SSO Joseph Arango, SC-TJSO Scott Mallette, SC-TJSO Reinhard Knerr, CB

Derek Passarelli, GFO Larry Perkins, EM-ORSO Jonathan Damiano, LM-20 Brian Stewart, LM-20

Robert Boston NE-ID Mark Brown, NE-ID

Brian J Anderson, PhD, NETL

Jay Mullis, OREM Brian Vance, ORP

Robert E. Edwards, III, PPPO

Michael Budney, SR